Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Faculty & Staff Resources: Articles & Specialized Information

Library Databases

The library has several ways to find the full text of articles, specialized Information, ebooks, and more. The most common methods are using online databases and Research@UWW. These and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus after entering your Net-ID and password when prompted.

The UWW libraries subscribe to over 300 databases. Most of our databases contain a variety sources in a particular subject area. Some have mostly articles and book chapters, while others specialize in legal cases, ebooks, videos, business information, and other types of specialized information. Some contain only articles from scholarly journals.

If you or your students need assistance using Research@UWW and online databases or have other research related questions, Ask a Librarian for help in person, over the phone, by email, or through chat. You may also choose to make an appointment with a librarian. Databases and Research@UWW list articles that may or may not be owned by the Library, in which case you can try to borrow them from another library.

Journals Search (Find our periodicals)

Research@UWW Journal Search button

Have you found the citation for an article you want in another article's bibliography or on Google Scholar? You can use the libraries' Journals Search to see whether and where the Whitewater libraries has the periodical (journal, magazine, or newspaper) that the article came from. Start by typing the periodical title (not the article title) in the box below. This is also available from the libraries' homepage.

Find the Full Text

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it. It will take you to the View It section of Research@UWW.

In the View It section you will see a link to the online article. If there is no View It section look for the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries or you have to borrow it. To borrow it from beyond our libraries, click on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link in that section.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journals Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.). If we do, click on the link provided to the periodical and then search the periodical for it.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journals Search guide or watch this How to Use Find It video