Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Country Profiles (BBC News)
Guides to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
The World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency)
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
WHO Country Index
Organized alphabetically, this index provides access to health-related information about WHO member countries.
IMF Poverty Reduction Strategy Papers
The papers in this collection are organized by country.
Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book. It covers reference information in politics and economics for more than 250 countries and territories.
Global Road Warrior
This database provides in-depth coverage on 175 countries including country facts, climate, society & culture, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, transportation, maps and communications.
Print resource in Andersen Library
- The statesman's yearbook - editions since 1904 in 3rd-floor Main Collection JA51 .S7.
Search for Andersen Library's books, both online and in print, using Research@UWW's "Books, Media, and more (UW Whitewater)." Searches may be for individual countries or regions, e.g.,
iran AND politics
"middle east" AND government
"arab countries" AND "foreign relations"
Finding Reference Books
Reference Universe is different from most Andersen Library databases in that it looks for entries in reference books owned by the library. Reference Universe works when searched using simple methods, such as searching for a few words or a phrase. Unlike other databases, truncation and nesting will not help you. However, click "Show more search options" for a few more advanced searching options.
After running a search, click on "View x Index Entries" or "View x Article Title" to get the page numbers of the entry and then, back on the result screen, click on the book title to get the location and call number. Once you get this information you can go to the Main or Reference collection to find the book, or click on the ebook link to view it online.
Country Information Databases
See links at left to these databases.
See the records for the titles below for some tips on words and phrases to search for more Library holdings in Research@UWW. For example, here are books you might find about customs and etiquette for Jamaica:
Search Books, Media, & More @ UWW