Skip to main content
site header image

Citation Guides: Home

This guide provides links to all of our citation resources.

APA Style

The American Psychological Association (APA) Style is used predominantly in the social sciences (business, education, psychology, etc.) 

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association governs formatting for the entire work, and the most current edition, the sixth, is available at the Reference Desk. While the Library's handout covers many citation examples of frequently-used source materials, the Manual contains many more.

image of the APA publication manual cover

 Online guide   

Printable (Word)

Printable (PDF)

 



 

MLA Style

The Modern Languages Association (MLA) Style is used predominantly in the humanities (languages, literature, philosophy, etc.)

The MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing and the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers provide guidance on the formatting of the entire paper. The most current editions of the two titles are kept at the Reference Desk. While the Library's handout covers many citation examples of frequently-used source materials, the two books contain many more.

image of the MLA handbook cover

 Online guide  

Printable (Word)

Printable (PDF)

 



 

Turabian Style

Turabian Style is used predominantly in history

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations dictates the formatting of the entire paper. The most current edition is kept at the Reference Desk. While the Library's handout covers many citation examples of frequently-used source materials, the Manual contains many more.

Turabian style guide book cover

Printable (Word)

Printable (PDF)


Turabian is very similar to Chicago style. Chicago style has two systems of documentation -- the notes-bibliography and the author-date version. Confirm with your professor if they want you to use one of those styles. 

Chicago Style Citaiton Quick Guide (U. of Chicago) -- contains examples of both the notes-bib and the author-date styles

Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue OWL) -- focuses mainly on the notes-bib style.

 



 

Citation Managers

Citation tools like Zotero and Endnote can help you organize your research. Review our guides for help, using the links below:  

          link to Zotero help guide  

           link to Endnote help guide

 

Database Citation Helpers

Many databases provide helpful citation generators. View the Citation Helper Tools guide for more information. 

 



 

Other Citation Styles

 

American Sociological Association (ASA) 

 Printable (Word)                                   Printable (PDF)

 

American Anthropological Association (AAA)

 Printable (PDF)