Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources with information about religions
If you need to find information about religions for some of your courses or research papers, try these resources:
Search Research@UWW's Books, Media and more (UW Whitewater) scope for books about religions, e.g.,
- The Atlas of Religion (2007, 3rd-floor Main CollectionG1046.E4 O2 2007)
- A Dictionary of Buddhism (2003)
- A Dictionary of Hinduism (2009)
- Encyclopedia of Hinduism (2007, 2nd-floor Reference Collection BL1105 .J56 2007)
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2004)
- The Encyclopedia of Protestantism (2004, 2nd-floor Reference Collection BX4811.3 .E53 2004)
- Encyclopedia of Religions (2005, 2nd-floor Reference Collection BL31 .E46 2005)
- New Catholic Encyclopedia (2003, 2nd-floor Reference Collection BX841 .N44 2003)
- The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions (2006, 3rd-floor Main Collection BL74 .O94 2006)
- Routledge Handbook of Religion and Politics (2009, 3rd-floor Main Collection BL65.P7 R78 2009)
- World Religions: Eastern Traditions (2002, 3rd-floor Main Collection, BL80.2 .W674 2002)
Finding Reference Books
Reference Universe is different from most Andersen Library databases in that it looks for entries in reference books owned by the library. Reference Universe works when searched using simple methods, such as searching for a few words or a phrase. Unlike other databases, truncation and nesting will not help you. However, click "Show more search options" for a few more advanced searching options.
After running a search, click on "View x Index Entries" or "View x Article Title" to get the page numbers of the entry and then, back on the result screen, click on the book title to get the location and call number. Once you get this information you can go to the Main or Reference collection to find the book, or click on the ebook link to view it online.
Search Books, Media, & More @ UWW