Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Marketing & Advertising: Advertising Resources

Examples of Advertisements

Winmo
- This link opens in a new window
Look up a brand or a company. The profiles for every page contain:
1) company advertising executives
2) ad agencies used by the brand/company
3) ad spend in different media categories
4) (sometimes) examples of TV ads or social media, and the niche audience reached by them
SRDS Media Solutions
- This link opens in a new window
Find the cost required to advertise in various media outlets. Our subscription includes modules for consumer magazines & newspapers, TV & cable, radio, and the digital website equivalents of each of those outlets.
Modules included for consumer magazines, newspaper, radio, TV & cable advertising outlets, and the digital website equivalents of each of those outlets.
Ad Age & Ad Age DataCenter
Ad Age is the leading trade publication for advertising. Search in their large archives to find articles and case studies on particularly successful or noteworthy advertising campaigns, usually from larger brands.
Ad Age DataCenter (available by clicking on the DataCenter link in the header at the top of the page) provides financial and performance information as well as employment data, Industry Annuals, Fact Packs, and Timelines.

Ads of the World
Search for ads and limit by industry, by medium (Film, Print, Digital, Outdoor, etc.), or by country.
Ad Council
One of America's leading producers of public service communications. Not for a specific brand, but for a cause or initiative.

Moat
Enter a brand to view current and recent digital ads, from many languages and both desktop and mobile platforms, all in one place.
AdForum
Search for a brand to see examples of noteworthy ad campaigns. Mostly TV and online video ad campaigns, very few print.
iTunes -- Movie Trailers
View a channel of movie trailers on iTunes.
AdBrands
Somewhat dated, but some recent news and mostly video ad campaigns from the top 100 or so major ad spenders.
Adverbox
Created to serve as daily advertising inspiration, this site has over 3000 ads.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Historical, up to 2017. To find ads, go to Advanced Search, and limit "Document type" to "Display ad" (NOT the "Advertisement" option).
Some content withheld due to copyright

Flipster -- Flip through 300+ magazines
Register here: https://bit.ly/WWlibrarycard for a DIGITAL-ONLY library card. Then access by using the link above, signing in with your Cafe library card number, NOT your UWW number. You may need to use an Incognito or Private window to login.
You do NOT have to be a resident of Whitewater to get this. Good for 60 days, access any of the digital resources available through cafelibraries.org.

Ad*Access
This collection from Duke University "presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."
Advertising Archives
A great resource for European advertisements.
AdViews
This collection from Duke University "provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s."