Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Music: Home/Reference Resources

Selected Library Reference Sources for Music

Oxford Music Online
Includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Note: This resource is limited to 5 users at a time.
Grove Music Online includes the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

Encyclopedia of African American Music African Americans' historical roots are encapsulated in the lyrics, melodies, and rhythms of their music. This encyclopedia showcases all facets of African American music including folk, religious, concert and popular styles in entries by more than 100 scholars. Included: genres, styles, individuals, groups, and collectives, historical topics (e.g., music of the Harlem Renaissance, Black Arts Movement, Civil Rights Movement, etc.), key individuals, groups, and ensembles associated with diverse religious beliefs, political affiliations, and other perspectives not usually approached. Also highlighted: major record labels, institutions of higher learning, and various cultural venues (e.g., Motown Records, Black Swan Records, Fisk University, Gospel Music Workshop of America, The Cotton Club, Center for Black Music Research, etc.).
Call Number: online
The Encyclopedia of Native Music Covers a wide range of forms: country and folk, jazz and swing, reggae and rap. Brian Wright-McLeod, producer/host of Canada's longest-running Native radio program, has created a comprehensive and authoritative source for biographies and discographies of hundreds of Native artists, tracing the history of their commercially released music spanning more than 100 years.
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, ML156.4.I5 W75 2005
Women and Music in America since 1900 This encyclopedia describes the role of women in all forms of music in the U.S. since 1900, covering important individuals, biographical overviews, gender issues, education, music genres, honors and awards, organizations, and professions.
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, ML82 .W625 2002
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Music of all the world's peoples in 10 volumes with some accompanying CDs (text and audio also available online).
Call Number: Available Online and in print in the Reference Collection (2nd floor)
The Rough Guide to World Music v. 1. Africa, Europe and the Middle East -- v. 2. Latin & North America, Caribbean, India, Asia and Pacific
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, ML102.W67 W67 1999