Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Music: Web Sites

This is a guide to web sites and library resources to support research and exploration in music.

Contents

This page's contents: Copyright Information, Education Resources, Instruments, Lyrics & Libretti, Midi, Prizes & Awards, Sheet Music,  and Misc. Web Sites

Sheet Music

Mills Music LIbrary Digital Collections (UW-Madison) include:

Misc. Web Sites

  • African Studies: Music and Dance of Africa (Columbia University Libraries)
  • Alexander Technique for Musicians (Alexander Technique Center of Washington, D.C.)
  • ARTISTdirect
  • Classical Music Daily
  • Early English Books Online - This database contains "page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700" and includes numerous early English ballads and carols.
  • Musicians Necrology, 1991-2018 (Washington University, St. Louis, MO)
  • Gregorian Chant Home Page (Peter Jeffery, Princeton University)
  • The Hoagy Carmichael Collection (Archives of Traditional Music, Indiana University) - browse scanned images of sheet music, lyrics, photographs, etc.
  • International Alliance for Women in Music
  • Music Selection Resources
  • The National Center for Voice and Speech (NCVS) (University of Utah, lead institution)
  • Omaha Indian Music (Library of Congress: American Memory project) - audio & photographs
  • ThemeFinder (Stanford University and Ohio State University)
    This is a searchable database of Renaissance, Baroque, Classical and Folksong themes.
  • The Wisconsin Folksong Collection, 1937-1946
    This collection provides searchable data, digitized audio and visual materials from two collections housed in three discrete but closely related repositories. It contains Wisconsin field recordings, notes, and photographs made by UW-Madison faculty member Helene Stratman-Thomas as part of the Wisconsin Folk Music Recording Project, co-sponsored by the University of Wisconsin and the Library of Congress during the summers of 1940, 1941, and 1946; and recordings collected by song catcher Sidney Robertson Cowell during the summer of 1937 for the Special Skills Division of the Resettlement Administration. Information is provided about each folksong and audio files of many original performances. There are also transcribed melodies, lyrics, performance photographs, and critical commentary listing concordant sources for the tunes and excerpts of field notes by the collector(s). Over 900 performances representing more than thirty ethnic or geographical sources are included. While vocal music predominates, instruments such as the accordion, guitar, Hardanger fiddle, psalmodikon, and tamburica are also presented.