Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Music: Articles & Databases

Research & Journal Article Databases for Music

Oxford Music Online
Note: This resource is limited to 5 users at a time.
Grove Music Online includes the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Fine Arts Collection (Gale)
Scholarly journals and magazines for research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
This segment of Web of Science indexes nearly 8,000 of the world's leading journals in arts and humanities.
This resource also tracks how many times an article has been cited since publication, finds relevant items which share one or more cited references, reviews cited references that link to a full record display, and searches all cited authors.
Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world, as well as millions of citations from the Humanities International Index.

Music Journals in JSTOR
Search or browse JSTOR's music titles, and see the years of full text available.
Project MUSE Advanced Search
Search Project MUSE's Music titles by scrolling to "Research Area" (on the left) and adding Music.

Specialized Research Databases for Music

DIAMM (Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music)
Registration for a free account is required to view images.
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (American Musicological Society)
Searchable bibliographical database of dissertations, but the dissertations themselves are not included.

IPA Source
The largest online library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Oxford Music Online
Includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Note: This resource is limited to 5 users at a time.
Grove Music Online includes the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales)
Find where music manuscripts and printed music from between 1600 and 1800 can be found. This does not contain full text or scores, but identifies where in the world it can be found.
Texts on Music in English (Indiana University)
This site is intended to eventually comprise all relevant manuscript and printed materials written in English from the Middle Ages through the seventeenth century. It extends the Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum.
Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum (TML) (Indiana University)
Searchable database and free access to "every known Latin text on music from the late antiquity to the seventeenth century"

Find the Full Text

Option 1:

To access the full text of an article, tap , View Online, or ; or tap to determine whether UW-W Library patrons have access to it via a different database or Interlibrary Loan. Here's how: