Skip to main content
site header image

How to Find Teaching Resources in the Library

This guide describes the teaching resources available in Andersen Library and the PK-12 Curriculum Collection. as well as how to locate them. In addition, it provides direction to locating online information such as article databases and useful websites.

Children's Fiction & Non-fiction

A small, representative collection of children's and young adult fiction and non-fiction is shelved in the Curriculum Collection, located on the east end of the second floor.  The primary purpose of the Curriculum Collection is to support coursework and research dealing with children's and young adult literature.  Several university departments make use of this collection and it contains a variety of representative materials to support their curricula. In addition, faculty, staff, and community members are invited to use the Curriculum Collection with children under their supervishelving for Easy Bookssion.

Non-fiction arranged by the Dewey Decimal System to reflect the call numbers most often used in school and public libraries.  Easy books are picture books aimed at children from birth to grade 4. Juvenile Fiction and Non-Fiction are for grades 5 and up. The Juvenile Fiction, Non-Fiction and Easy book collections circulate for regular loan periods.

Books for the Juvenile Fiction, Non-Fiction and Easy Book collections are selected based on recommendations from faculty  and from award winning book lists. The award lists consulted include the following:

Finding Children's Books

A small, representative collection of children's and young adult fiction and non-fiction is shelved in the Curriculum Collection, located on the east end of the second floor. 

Non-fiction Books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal System to reflect the call numbers most often used in school and public libraries, and are for grades 5 and up.

E Books = Easy books are picture books aimed at children from birth to grade 4.

F Books = Juvenile Fiction are for grades 5 and up.

To locate children's books that may have applications in music education, use Research@UWW.

TIPS:

  • Put phrases in quotes, such as "children's music"  
  • Edit the search by date using the date slider.
  • After searching for your topic, you may wish to Refine your search by limiting to items found in the Curriculum Collection. Children's music is also be available in the Main Collection.

Ask a Librarian in person or online if you need more help. 

screenshot of a search and results page

Identifying Reading or Grade Level

Looking for award-winning books or books at a specific...

  • grade level?
  • reading level?
  • interest level?

Deciding whether a book is appropriate requires research. These databases will help you by allowing you to search by levels, themes and topics, and more.