Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Doctorate of Business Administration: Company & Industry Info

Individual Company Profiles

PrivCo
Financial information for US-based private companies earning at least $1 million in annual revenue or have at least $1 million in venture capital backing.
Note: You must create an account using your UWW email address, and this is how you will log in after NET ID authentication.
Each individual account has privileges for:
150 unique private company profile views per month
150 unique private company profiles exported via Excel per month
150 unique private company profile PDF downloads per month
plus "Saved Searched", "Company Watchlists", and all PrivCo individual account features.

If you need the 150 limit increased, please contact the Business Librarian so we can make the request to PrivCo. This is done on a case-by-case basis and must be for academic research purposes only.
Proquest One Business: Company Reports
Company profiles, financials, and analysis from sources such as Mergent, Plunkett, Hoover’s, and more.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection as part of ProQuest One Business resource.
Reference Solutions
- This link opens in a new window
Directions: Use the ReferenceUSA > Businesses module. It contains profiles of more than 20 million public and private businesses, both large and small.
Use the Quick Search to search for a specific company name. Add a state if needed to limit results. If your list has many results, look for the Corporate Tree icon and look for the parent company.
Westlaw Campus Research
- This link opens in a new window
Use "Company Investigator" to look for company profiles and investigations. Use "EDGAR filings and disclosures" to search for SEC filings.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Industry Resources

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Use the Advanced Search screen to limit to Industry Overview under Document Type.
It can also be searched using Enhanced Interface Searching.
Funding provided by the College of Business & Economics.
IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed industry market reports for 700+ areas of the U.S. economy. Each report contains statistics on the previous 5 years, future 5 years’ projections, analysts’ commentary, and risk ratings. Includes some state-level and global industry reports.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Search for the industry, your company name for its role in the industry, or some consumer info.
Also check their Digital Market Outlook for digital-focused industries -- e.g. online gaming, music, videos, social media.

Industry Market Share

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
When viewing a report, click the Major Companies tab to find market share information.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Statista has market share information for some industries.
Gale Directory Library
Access to the Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media and the Market Share Reporter.

US Census Bureau Economic Statistics
Get access to the Economic Census (released every 5 years), as well as economic indicators and data by sector.

Public or Private?

The first step in company research is to determine the legal status of the company -- private, public, subsidiary, branch, or parent. See this video:

Private companies enjoy the right to not share any details about their company, specifically any financial data. They are harder to research. See this video:

Public companies should share much more information right away because of required disclosure to the government and shareholders. See this video:

SIC/NAICS Codes

Many business reference sources such as company directories or industry analyses use the federal government's numerical codes (SIC or NAICS) to describe types of businesses. Use the links below to identify your code, and thus help identify who else is in your industry:

NAICS Codes
The North American Industrial Classification System -- the most updated system in the US to classify companies into different categories based on their product or service.
SIC structure
The Standard Industrial Codes structure. Technically, NAICS has replaced SIC, but SIC are sometimes still used too.
ISIC Codes
The PDF document from the United Nations, outlining the International Standard Industrial Classification of All Economic Activities (ISIC codes).
NAICS/SIC Correspondence Tables
Concordance of NAICS publication structure and comparable SIC indexes

Trade Associations

The purpose of trade associations is to represent and promote the interests of its members. The organizations produce reports that examine the industry and its key players (often its own members) and also provide statistics.

IBISWorld is our best database that highlights relevant national trade associations. You can also find many trade associations via Google. Watch this video segment (2:53-4:26) to learn more: