It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Doctorate of Business Administration: Journal Quality
An online research guide for students pursuing a Doctorate in Business Administration
As you research, you're going to come across many articles from journals you might be unfamiliar with. So how do you know if the article you've found is from a top tier journal? Or if you are publishing a conference proceeding or an article, how do you know if you are choosing the best journal for your field?
Ultimately, YOU make the decision. But we can help: review this guide from the Canadian Association of Research Libraries to help select a journal in which to publish. Andersen Library also has a few resources you can use to help you determine which articles might be more valuable:
Provides updated current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals. The company aims to provide information on journal acceptance, review process, and more.
"The Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources. It is published primarily to assist academics to target papers at journals of an appropriate standard." Select the list you're interested in from the Download Information section.
Comprehensive and authoritative information on 250,000 serials published worldwide. Provides purchasing and contact information on regularly published and irregularly issued serials, journals and magazines.
Enter your email the first time to access the list, then search for any journal name in the list to see its ranking. This list is from Australia, so it is somewhat southern-hemisphere oriented; however, it is still a vitally important list for ranking business-specific journals.
One way to determine an article's value is to check the number of times it has been cited. There are several sources you can check to find this information.
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, over 50,000 scholarly books, and published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year. Powerful tools track how many times an item has been cited since publication, finds relevant items which share one or more cited references, reviews cited references that link to a full record display, and searches all cited authors.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Business Source Complete offers peer-reviewed sources, business related journals, and full-text coverage (plus indexing and abstracts) for important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. It can also be searched using Enhanced Interface Searching.
Funding provided by the College of Business & Economics.