Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Social Studies Education Resources: Primary Sources

Primary Sources: Select Websites

Library of Congress - Digital Collections
Digital collections including advertisements to maps to baseball cards and more
American Journeys (Wisconsin Historical Society)
More than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration
more...less...
From the Wisconsin Historical Society, this site contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration.
CUL Digital Collections
Of particular interest is the Sulphur Springs Collection of Pre-Nickelodeon Films.
more...less...
A digital collection from the Central University Libraries at Southern Methodist University. Of particular interest is the Sulphur Springs Collection of Pre-Nickelodeon Films.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
This site houses over 13,000 historical maps, with search and viewing capabilities.
History Matters
designed for high school and college teachers and students of U.S. history
more...less...
This collection is designed for high school and college teachers and students of U.S. history. and includes lesson plans and teaching strategies.
National History Day in Wisconsin
includes program and annual competition information, teaching guides, and resources
The Making of America
primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
more...less...
This is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The primary documents are from the library collections at the University of Michigan and Cornell University.
The National Archives of the U.S.: Teaching with Documents
reproducible copies of primary documents that correlate to standards and examples of teaching activities that incorporate primary sources
more...less...
This section of the National Archives Web site contains reproducible copies of primary documents from the holdings of the National Archives of the United States that correlate to standards. It also provides excellent examples of teaching activities that incorporate primary sources.
Political Cartoons and Public Debate (Library of Congress)
includes teacher's guide
University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
manuscript collections; photographic images; slides; maps; prints; posters; audio; and video
more...less...
Created to provide access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, all of the digital resources within the collections are free and publicly accessible. They include text-based materials such as books, journal series, and manuscript collections; photographic images; slides; maps; prints; posters; audio; and video.

Primary Sources: UWW Subscriptions

The following are resources to help you get started locating primary sources for creating lesson plans and units of study. For in person assistance, visit the Andersen Library Special Collections on the 1st floor of the Library where you'll find physical primary source materials, including UW-Whitewater history, Wisconsin Historical Society collections, Area Research Center for Jefferson, Rock, and Walworth Counties, and much more.

Accessible Archives
Primary source material from 18th & 19th century magazines and books, including eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of everyday life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records.
Collections provided by Andersen Library: African-American Newspapers (Parts 1-13); VA Gazette (Parts 1-5); Civil War Collection (Parts 1-6); Godey's Lady's Book (Parts 1-9); Frank Leslie's Weekly (Parts 1-14); Women's Suffrage Collection (Parts 1-3).

HeritageQuest
American genealogical sources including unique primary sources, local and family histories. From BadgerLink
History Reference Center
Information and primary sources for U.S. and world history topics from Badgerlink
LibGuide for Primary Sources
Full collection of Andersen Library databases and search tips for locating primary resources

Teaching Social Studies with Equitable Primary Resources

Teaching Social Studies & Civics Through Primary Sources & Equitable Materials is the result of an Undergraduate Research Project presented by UW-Whitewater students at the 2021 Conference for the National Council of Undergraduate Research.

Undergraduate Research Poster Presentation

Social Studies Education Resources

Jackdaw Collection in the Library

What is a Jackdaw?

Primary Sources

Primary Sources: Select Websites

Primary Sources: UWW Subscriptions

Teaching Social Studies with Equitable Primary Resources