Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

PreK-12 Reading Courses: Finding Articles

Research Databases for Education-Related Topics

While Research@UWW is a good starting point for finding articles, you may find you have better results with specific subject databases.

Below are some suggested databases to search for locating journal articles to get you started on your assignment.  Visit A-Z Databases for a complete list. 

Search Tips

Here are some search tips to remember when searching the databases.

1. Be sure to mark the "peer reviewed" or "scholarly" limit when searching for peer reviewed articles.

2. Use quotation marks around phrases (e.g. "health education", "type II diabetes")

3. Use the word "AND" between different concepts.

4. Use the word "OR" between similar concepts.

5. A common truncation symbol in the databases is the asterisk symbol *. Using this will allow you to search for various forms of the word in one step. For example, strateg* will search for strategy, strategies, strategize, and strategic.

Here are some example searches:

  • ("experimental methods" or "nontraditional education" or "experimental teaching") and autism
  • (treatment* or strateg* or approach* or method*) and "Prader Willi Syndrome"
  • "health education" and (certif* or credent*)

View a brief tutorial

Peer-reviewed Articles

print-based information Peer-Reviewed vs. Trade Journals vs. Popular Articles: What's the difference? (graphic)

play video button Identifying Types of Articles: Explained (video)

 Peer Review in Three Minutes: What is peer review? (video)

 refereed Ulrichsweb: How can I identify whether a journal is peer-reviewed? Search for a magazine or journal by title. If it is identified with a referee shirt, it is a refereed publication, and most articles in the publication will be peer reviewed.

Find the Full Text

Option 1: To access the full text of an article, tap Download PDF, View Online,  or Online Access; or tap  Find It button to determine whether UW-W Library patrons have access to it via a different database or inter-library loan (ILLiad). Here's how:

watch a brief tutorialHow to Use Find It: Step by Step

Option 2: Use the Journals search to find out whether we have access to a particular journal or magazine:

screenshot of journal search button

Option 3: If you know the DOI

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID