PreK-12 Reading Courses

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is a subscription for UW-Whitewater students.

Here are THREE ways to find physical items available to UW-W patrons using CLCD.

Option 1.

Search CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database), then scan the results list and look for the items with the UW-W logo or the heart symbol:

Option 2: 

Limit your search to only titles in the UW-Whitewater Curriculum Collections on 2nd floor of the Library: 

1. Go to CLCD.
2. Choose the University of Wisconsin - Whitewater radio button.

Option 3:

This option will allow you to search the entire CLCD collection for just the right books, then identify which are in the UW System Libraries. You may then place a UW Request for books that may not be in the UW-Whitewater collection.

1. Go to CLCD
2. Leave the "Universe of Books" radio button selected. Do not choose University of Wisconsin - Whitewater.
3. Tap a title in your results list to view the full record. 
4. Tap "Check the Library's Catalog" link. This will generate a search the entire UW System Libraries for the book.

Use this Research@UWW box to start searching for books in the library or other UW System libraries: 

Add any of the following terms or phrases to your keyword (query word) to narrow more quickly to the Curriculum Collection:

• juvenile
• picture books
• "stories in rhyme"

For example, if searching for picture books with cats, type cats picture books in the search box:

You may find it helpful to use the Location limiter at the left of the results page. Limit results to: 

• Curriculum Collection Easy Books for fiction and non-fiction, PreK-Grade 4. 
• Curriculum Collection Fiction for Grades 5 to Young Adult
• Curriculum Collection Non-Fiction for Grades 5 to Young Adult.

To locate the book on the shelf, note the author's name, the entire location, and the call number. 

Children's and young adult (through grade 12) books are located in the Curriculum Collection on the 2nd floor of Andersen Library.

If the Andersen Library collection does not have the title you want, use the Get It to Request link and follow the prompts to borrow it from another UW System library using UW System Borrowing.

Create your account: 

1. Navigate to your library's OverDrive collection. 
   1. Download the Libby app if you are using a mobile device. 
2. Search for the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater.
3. Login with your UW-W netID and password.

Tap Subjects to look for children's and YA titles.

Add the Wisconsin Public Library Consortium Collection:

• This will give access to many more ebooks and audiobooks
• You must be using the Libby mobile app
• Follow the step on this guide (opens a new tab)