Examples in this guide are provided for footnote citations (N) and bibliography (B). Footnotes and bibliography format contain most of the same elements but are formatted slightly differently. For example, notes use paragraph (first line) indentation, and the bibliography entries use hanging indents. If you cite one source multiple times, you may use shortened notes for citations after the first one -- see directions here.
Jump to specific examples in the table below:
| Oxford Music Online | Sound Recording (Track) | Music Track from Database | Digital Liner Notes |
| Physical Book (Critical Edition) | Live recording on YouTube | Spotify Track | Sound Recording (Album, CD, etc.) |
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online Entry with author (17.1.8)
N:
B:
Oxford Music Online entry without author (17.9.1 & 17.1.8)
N:
B:
Track from an Album
In the bibliography, list musical recordings under either the name of the composer or performer/conductor, depending on which is more important for your argument. If the source is accessed online, end with a URL.
Track from an album (CD) (17.10.3.4)
N:
Track from an Album (CD) (17.10.3.4)
B:
In the bibliography, list musical recordings under either the name of the composer or performer/conductor, depending on which is more important for your argument. If the source is accessed online, end with a URL.
N:
B:
Track from a Database
Track from a database (Naxos) (17.10.3.4)
N:
B:
Digital Liner Notes
Liner Notes (Naxos)
N:
B:
Physical Book - Critical Edition
Critical edition (17.10.4.3)
N:
B:
Live Recording on YouTube
Live recording (17.10.3.4)
N:
B:
Spotify Track
N:
B:
