Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Occupational & Environmental Safety & Health: Key Research Databases

Applied Science & Technical Collections

ScienceDirect
Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals in Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Earth and Planetary Sciences, and more.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary science, health, and technical database. Citations only, linked out to full text where available. Use Interlibrary Loan to access full text if it's not available from here.
This resource also tracks how many times an article has been cited since publication, finds relevant items which share one or more cited references, reviews cited references that link to a full record display, and searches all cited authors.
ACS Publications
Cutting-edge research in the chemical and related sciences, from ~50 peer-reviewed journals from the American Chemical Society.
Military & Government Collection
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, full text for more than 300 journals, and citations and abstracts for more.
National Fire Codes
The National Fire Protection Association's codes and standards are intended to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks. Click the desired code, then click the "Free Access" button to choose the edition you want to review.
Note: You must create an NFPA profile to access the free version. This is separate from your Net-ID.
Reaxys
Find chemical compounds, bibliographic data, and chemical reactions. Includes the Beilstein database, Gmelin database, and the Patent Chemistry database.
Information is based on three chemical information databases: (Former) CrossFire Beilstein, (Former) CrossFire Gmelin, and the Patent Chemistry Database (PCD).

MSDS and Other Chemical Safety Resources (UW-Madison)
Access to MSDS; Chemical Substance Fact Sheets, IPCS INTOX, NAOSH Week and CIS Center Network.

Business Article Databases

Environment

Environment Complete
Full text articles and e-books in the areas of agriculture, energy, natural resources, water science, geography, pollution, urban planning, and more.

ECOTOX
From the EPA, a source for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants, and wildlife.
PubMed Toxicology
From the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to resources produced by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program and by other government agencies and organizations.
Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO) Database
From the EPA, contains 600,000 scientific references and data from the peer-reviewed literature used by the EPA to develop its regulations.

Health

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Full text nursing and related health discipline journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, drug records, and clinical trials.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Scholarly research covering all aspects of biomedicine including nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.
PubMed
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, biology, life science journals, and online books.

Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO) Database
From the EPA, contains 600,000 scientific references and data from the peer-reviewed literature used by the EPA to develop its regulations.
National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety (CDC)
Searchable database of occupational safety and health publications, documents, grant reports, and more supported in whole or in part by NIOSH.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bigger search tool than any of the library's databases, containing scholarly articles, books, and theses in all subject areas. Some citations and some full-text.
Use these directions to connect from Scholar to what UWW already subscribes to: https://libguides.uww.edu/googlescholar

Important! Google Scholar may ask you to pay for content. Don't pay!

Be sure you've connected Google Scholar to UW-W resources, to get free full-text access to more content. Watch the video tutorial here: