Marriage and Family Therapy by 
Marriage and Family Therapy (1st Edition) by 
Clinical Handbook of Couple Therapy by
Now in a significantly revised sixth edition with 70% new material, this comprehensive handbook has introduced tens of thousands of practitioners and students to the leading forms of couple therapy practiced today. Prominent experts present effective ways to reduce couple distress, improve overall relationship satisfaction, and address specific relational or individual problems. Chapters on major approaches follow a consistent format to help readers easily grasp each model's history, theoretical underpinnings, evidence base, and clinical techniques. Chapters on applications provide practical guidance for working with particular populations (such as stepfamily couples and LGBT couples) and clinical problems (such as intimate partner violence, infidelity, and various psychological disorders). Instructive case examples are woven throughout. New to This Edition *Chapters on additional clinical approaches: acceptance and commitment therapy, mentalization-based therapy, intergenerational therapy, socioculturally attuned therapy, and the therapeutic palette approach. *Chapters on sexuality, older adult couples, and parents of youth with disruptive behavior problems. *Chapters on assessment and common factors in couple therapy. *Chapters on cutting-edge special topics: relationship enhancement, telehealth interventions, and ethical issues in couple therapy.
Doing Couple Therapy (2nd ed.) by
Now thoroughly revised, this practical, user-friendly guide has helped thousands of novice couple therapists and students to navigate the challenges of clinical work with couples in conflict. Robert Taibbi presents effective strategies for rapidly identifying a couple's core issues and conducting each stage of therapy, from the first sessions to termination. Rich with sensitive case material, the book features end-of-chapter exercises that help readers identify and develop their own strengths as practitioners. Appendices include reproducible client handouts that can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size. New to This Edition *Three chapters offering detailed treatment maps for common couple problems, with new case examples. *Chapter on the middle stages of treatment. *Increased attention to the all-important opening sessions. *Sharper focus on the three major obstacles to couple success: poor communication, emotional wounds, and differing visions. *Reproducible client handouts explaining key techniques. See also the author's Doing Family Therapy, Fourth Edition: Craft and Creativity in Clinical Practice.
Doing Family Therapy (4th ed.) by
Engaging, practical, and infused with clinical wisdom, this widely used text and practitioner guide helps therapists working with families to hit the ground running. The revised and updated fourth edition brings fresh insights into the issues families bring to therapy and the therapist's moment-to-moment decision making. Rather than advocating one best approach, Robert Taibbi shows that there are multiple ways to guide parents, children, and adolescents and harness their strengths. The beginning, middle, and end stages of treatment are richly illustrated with chapter-length case examples. End-of-chapter learning exercises help readers build key skills and creatively develop their own clinical style. New to This Edition *All chapters revised, with new case studies throughout. *Sidebars on common challenges facing new clinicians: self-doubt, the emotional experience of working with distressed families, and more. *Increased attention to what the therapist can say and do to actively shape each session. *Heightened focus on process--helping families explore the "how" of problem solving as much as the "what." See also the author's Doing Couple Therapy, Second Edition: Craft and Creativity in Work with Intimate Partners.
Foundations of Couples, Marriage, and Family Counseling by
A comprehensive and practical approach to the world of marriage, couples, and family counseling Esteemed academics David Capuzzi and Mark D. Stauffer present the theory, research, and real-life practice of today's counselors and therapists in family therapy settings. Aligned with the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) and Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE), this useful text covers foundational teaching important to readers, but also critical modern topics not included in other texts, such as sexuality, trauma, divorce, domestic violence, and addictions, filial play therapy, and using community genograms to position culture and context in family therapy. With a unique focus on practical applications, the book discusses the major family therapy theories, and provides graduate students and post-graduate learners in counseling, mental health, and behavioral health fields the skills and techniques they need to help couples and families as part of their work in a variety of helping environments. Each chapter contains case studies and anecdotes that help readers think critically about the issues they are likely to deal with as clinicians. Written by recognized and respected contributors, this book helps readers see the connection between what they know and what happens in couples and family counseling sessions. Readers will: Learn the knowledge and skills essential to family therapy Understand the history, concepts, and techniques associated with major theories Examine the key issues specific to couples work, with relevant intervention Explore solutions to the complexities generated by special issues Discusses the modern realities of family, diversity and culture, and systemic contexts Family and couples counseling presents a complex interplay of various factors inherent to each individual, the dynamic interplay between each person's issues, and the outside influences that shape behavior. Foundations of Couples, Marriage, and Family Counseling helps readers sort out the complexity and guide clients toward lasting resolution.
The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy, the Profession of Systemic Family Therapy (VOL 1) by
This first volume of the The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy includes extensive work on the theory, practice, research, and policy foundations of the profession of CMFT and its roles in an integrated health care system. Developed in partnership with the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), it will appeal to clinicians, such as couple, marital, and family therapists, counselors, psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists. It will also benefit researchers, educators, and graduate students involved in CMFT.
The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy, Systemic Family Therapy with Children and Adolescents (VOL 2) by 
The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy, Systemic Family Therapy with Couples (VOL 3) by
Volume III of The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy focuses on therapy with couples. Information on the effectiveness of relational treatment is included along with consideration of the most appropriate modality for treatment. Developed in partnership with the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), it will appeal to clinicians, such as couple, marital, and family therapists, counselors, psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists. It will also benefit researchers, educators, and graduate students involved in CMFT.
The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy, Systemic Family Therapy and Global Health Issues (VOL 4) by
Volume IV of The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy considers family-level interventions for issues of global public health. Information on the effectiveness of relational treatment is included along with consideration of the most appropriate modality for treatment. Developed in partnership with the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), it will appeal to clinicians, such as couple, marital, and family therapists, counselors, psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists. It will also benefit researchers, educators, and graduate students involved in CMFT.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research v.1: A Sourcebook - Couples, Families, and Children by
The fourth edition of this essential resource has dozens of new scales as well as updated information for existing instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine. Eachinstrument is reproduced in its entirety and critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them. This first volume covers measures for use with couples, families, and children; its companion focuses on adults. Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerfultools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.Giving clinicians the scales they need to measure their clients' problems and monitor their outcomes, these all-in-one sourcebooks bring effective, accountable practice within reach for today's busy professionals.