Many databases offer a "Cite" tool. Use these a starting point for building your References page; however, as these are often inaccurate, verify provided citations by checking them against a writers' manual or style guide.
This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychiatric Association. (2013). Neurodevelopmental Disorders. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental
disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596.dsm01
Parenthetical citation: (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
Narrative citation: American Psychiatric Association (2013)
Source: APA Style Blog
Since ClinicalKey contains different types of content you will need to note what type of material you are citing in order to follow the style rules for that type of resource.
To cite a Clinical Overview, use the following example:
Elsevier Point of Care. (2021, March 29). Clinical overview:
Generalized anxiety disorder. ClinicalKey. Retrieved
from https://www.clinicalkey.com
To cite a journal article found in the ClinicalKey database:
View the PDF of journal articles to locate the DOI in the footer of the first page as depicted in the image. Cite as any journal article.
Explanation: See the APA Publication Manual, 7th Ed., p310, and "For works from databases that publish original, proprietary material available only in that database [...], include the name of the database or archive and the URL of the work. If the URL requires a login or is session-specific (meaning it will not resolve for readers), provide the URL of the database or archive home page or login page instead of the URL for the work" (APA Style Blog).
Go to the source for accurate style information. Copies are available online, in Reference, and in the Main Collection. Stop at the Reference Desk for assistance.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Andersen Library provides support for EndNote Basic and Zotero, two robust reference managers. Each has unique features but both provide the following capabilities:
Visit the LibGuides below to find out more about each manager and get started. The LibGuides contain information regarding setup and technical issues that are specific to UWW users.
