It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SAFETY 485/685: Fire Protection/Prevention: Library Research Resources
An online research guide for use with SAFETY 485/685
Some of your fires are going to be quite obscure, not widely studied, or perhaps too new to have lots of scholarly studies done on them (this generally applies to fires within the last 5 years).
Here's help! These search tips apply for searching nearly any of the databases listed on this page:
Don't use the year of the fire in the search box.
If you aren't finding anything on your exact fire, think of the broader type of fire and what lessons could have been learned from similar types of fires, even if it wasn't your exact fire. For example, warehouse chemicals fire
Put the exact name of your fire in "quotation marks" -- this tells the database to search for those words in that order, as an exact phrase. For example, "Collinwood school fire"
But, if that gives you few or no results, take some words out of the quotation marks. "Our lady of the angels" school fire may give you more results than "Our lady of the angels school fire".
Don't hesitate to contact me (see right) for help with your specific fire.
Use this linked search to search Books, Media, & More across the entire UW System. Many results may not be held here, but sign in to your account, then items can be requested for free using UW Request. Most items are delivered within a couple of days.
Alternately, Google Scholar is an even bigger search. Not all of the articles are full-text, though -- use the directions on the Google Scholar tab to link to UW-W and see what we have subscriptions to.
These are both very big searches and you will probably have to filter through many results.
Or, use these specific Library databases to find articles and fire codes related to your topic:
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries. This extensive database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide and provides full-text coverage of more than 196 journals and more than 92 books. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, it includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary e-journal archive with full-text access to back (historical) issues of scholarly journals. Journals include history, sociology, population studies, anthropology, business, and more.
Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.
This portal provides access to the National Fire Protection Association's timely consensus codes and standards intended to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks. Note: Restricted to 10 users at a time.