Peer-Reviewed vs. Trade Journals vs. Popular Articles: What's the difference? (graphic)
Identifying Types of Articles: Explained (video)
Peer Review in Three Minutes: What is peer review? (video)
Ulrichsweb: How can I identify whether a journal is peer-reviewed? Search for a magazine or journal by title. If it is identified with a referee shirt, it is a refereed publication, and most articles in the publication will be peer reviewed.
To access the full text of an article, tap 
, View Online, or 
; or tap 
to determine whether UW-W Library patrons have access to it via a different database or Interlibrary Loan. Here's how:
How to Use Find It: Step by Step
Use the Journals search to find out whether we have access to a particular journal or magazine:
If you know the DOI
While Research@UWW is a good starting point for finding articles, you may find you have better results with specific subject databases.
Below are some suggested databases to search for locating journal articles to get you started on your assignment. Visit A-Z Databases for a complete list.
Full-text access to articles from over 7,000 journals (including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals), magazines, and reference sources.
Offering full text of journals, books, videos, and education-related conference papers, as well as millions of citations. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
The world's largest source of education information. More than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice, some linking out to full text.
Full-text scholarly journals for professional educators, with citations and abstracts for hundreds more.
Contextual topic overviews and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Links to content from magazines, academic journals, news, primary sources, multimedia, and vetted websites.
Use this resource to locate information about policies and public opinion.
Public opinion poll questions and answers on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. Results from 1935 to the present from academic, commercial and media survey organizations.