The following are genres or categories of literature for assignments in EDUINDP334 Children's Literature and Language Arts: Ages 3 Through 8 and ELEMMID362 Children's Literature.
alphabet AND ("juvenile fiction" OR "picture books" OR "alphabet book")
numbers AND ("juvenile fiction" OR "picture books" OR "counting book")
STRATEGY 1: Walk to the Easy Book section in the Curriculum Collection on 2nd floor. Look for books that are 40-100 pages, usually smaller format books - not picture books.
STRATEGY 2: Look at the CCBC Choices for the previous years. Try this search first. You may also browse the CCBC Choices booklet. Open the document/publication to the chapter "Books for Newly Independent Readers." These will often be chapter books.
Note: Look at the section in your textbook about transitional books. There is a list of examples in the appendix. According to your textbook, these "lie somewhere between picture books and full-length novels"(p. 105). Characteristics listed include:
STRATEGY 3: Go to this TeachingBooks link for 1000's to choose from, along with teaching resources!
STRATEGY 4: Use Children's Literature Comprehensive Database to find chapter books in our collections.
This video walks you through the steps below:
 |
AudiobooksOPTION 1: Check out these Weston Woods published audiobooks in the Library collection. They are in the DVD collection but they are audiobooks! OPTION 2: Tap or copy/paste this search in Research@UWW, then limit to Resource Type = Audio: "children's fiction" OR "children's stories" EbooksVisit the E-books for Elementary, Middle & Secondary School tab on this same page. |
STRATEGY 1: Visit American Library Association (ALA) Frequently Challenged Books List, then search for the titles in Research@UWW
STRATEGY 2: Check out any of the following books. Each includes a list of banned books, summary, and reason for challenge or censorship.
Books under Fire by 
Silenced in the Library by 
Intellectual Freedom Stories from a Shifting Landscape by
Intellectual freedom is a complex concept that democracies and free societies around the world define in different ways but always strive to uphold. And ALA has long recognized the crucial role that libraries play in protecting this right. But what does it mean in practice? How do library workers handle the ethical conundrums that often accompany the commitment to defending it? Rather than merely laying out abstract policies and best practices, this important new collection gathers real-world stories of intellectual freedom in action to illuminate the difficulties, triumphs, and occasional setbacks of advocating for free and equal access to information for all people in a shifting landscape. Offering insight to LIS students and current practitioners on how we can advance the profession of librarianship while fighting censorship and other challenges, these personal narratives explore such formidable situations as presenting drag queen story times in rural America; a Black Lives Matter "die-in" at the undergraduate library of the University of Wisconsin-Madison; combating censorship at a prison library; hosting a moderated talk about threats to modern democracy that included a neo-Nazi spokesman; a provocative exhibition that triggered intimidating phone calls, emails, and a threat to burn down an art library; calls to eliminate non-Indigenous children's literature from the collection of a tribal college library; and preserving patrons' right to privacy in the face of an FBI subpoena.
There are many ways to find these in Research@UWW.
Step 1, Tap this search:
("graphic novels" OR "comic books") AND juvenile
You may need to copy/paste the search in Research@UWW if the link does not work properly.
Step 2, Try both of these strategies as well:
6. Refine Results: Scroll to the Genre section and check "biographical fiction", "historical fiction" and other relevant genres.
7. Look at the Genre and Subject headings to make sure it is historical fiction.
Novelist is a Badgerlink database, available to Wisconsin residents. Public libraries and schools use it to help patrons find book titles they might want to read. Any one can use this! You can access it through Badgerlink.com, but for now:
Go to the Library, 2nd floor. Visit the Curriculum Collection Non-Fiction section
For grades 4 and above, try this:
For grades 4 and below, try this:
Modern fantasy can take place in alternative worlds or the world we know. "...fantasy includes stories of magic, ghosts, talking animals and superhuman heroes, of time travel, hallucinations and dreams" (Grenby, 2014, p.144).
Grenby, M. (2014). Children's Literature. United Kingdom: Edinburgh University Press.
Begin with your course textbook, especially the booklists found in at the end of each chapter.
Search Research@UWW and search for a specific cultural group or nationality. FILTER your results by location.
The books below contain listings of children's books by country.
Many other reference books in the PN1009 section will contain indexes of titles by country. Search the index by country name or search for "Foreign lands", for example "Foreign lands - Mexico."
A to Zoo by 
Crossing Boundaries with Children's Books
The World Through Children's Books by Postmodern picture books are often characterized by:
Novelist allows filtering by genre and age.
|
Begin with your course textbook, especially the booklists found in at the end of each chapter.
"fairy tales" OR legends OR myth* OR folktales OR "folk tales" |
 |
(folklore OR "folk tale" OR folktale) AND Chile
Many other reference books in the PN1009 section will contain indexes of titles by country. Search the index by country name or search for "Foreign lands", for example "Foreign lands - Mexico."
The International Reading Association (ILA) describes these as "ensemble" texts, which present "information across a variety of modes including visual images, design elements, written language, and other semiotic resources to convey meaning and engage readers" (para. 1). There is no subject heading or genre filter in online catalogs, so...
Find additional examples of multimodal texts mentioned in this blog from the Univ of Brighton College of Education as well as in the article mentioned above from the ILA.
Goodreads can be a potential source, but you must verify that the selections truly fit the multimodal description in your textbook.
STRATEGY 1: Tap this Research@UWW search to see what is available at UW-Whitewater.
STRATEGY 2: Not all books have the award identified in the catalog, so you will also want to visit the CCBC book list, and then look for titles in Research@UWW.
Follow the Education Librarian's Pinterest Boards for another way to browse recent additions to our children's collections.
