Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Resources with Country Information
- Country Profiles (BBC News)
- Country Studies (Library of Congress)
- Europa: Gateway to the European Union includes descriptions of member countries
- Europa World Plus
Andersen Library has many years of the annual Europa world year book in print also. The newest edition is in the 2nd-floor Reference Collection (JN1. E85); older editions since 1963 are in 3rd-floor Main Collection OVERSIZE JN1 .E85. This resource provides detailed profiles of countries, including history, government, religion, the press, and trade & industry, along with brief demographics and statistics on agriculture, forestry, mining, industry, finance, external trade, transportation, tourism, communications media, and education. There are also regional Europa books with more detailed country profiles (newer editions in Reference, older in Main OVERSIZE):
- Africa South of the Sahara DT351 .A37
- Central and Southeastern Europe HC244.A1 C46
- Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia HC244 .E225
- The Far East and Australasia DS1 .F3
- The Middle East and North Africa DS49 .M5
- South America, Central America, and the Caribbean F1406.5 .S68x
- Fact Sheets (U.S. State Dept.) - previously Background Notes
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
This collection of online reference works includes titles such as Countries and Their Cultures, Historical Dictionary of Pakistan, etc. in the "Nation and World" collection.
- Global Road Warrior-The Ultimate Guide to the World (World Trade Press)
- A Guide to Countries of the World (Oxford Reference Online Premium database)
- The Statesman's Yearbook
All editions of this annual title are in 3rd-floor Main Collection, JA51 .S7
- The World Factbook (CIA)
Also search Research@UWW's "Books, Media and more (UW Whitewater)" scope for additional titles such as the keyword phrase "historical dictionary" AND <country>, or (encycloped* OR dictionar*) AND <country>, e.g.,
"historical dictionary" AND vietnam
will find this record:
Search for Books, Media, & More @ UWW
Use this box to quickly search Research@UWW for books, media, and more at UW-Whitewater.
Country Information Databases
See links at left to these databases.