Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Political Science (101): Home

A guide to selected resources for political science research.

General Research Tools

Research@UWW searches "Everything" (articles, books, ebooks, videos, government documents, etc.) in all disciplines. Add filters like date or resource type (e.g., articles) after a search. Books, media, and more UW Whitewater searches just UW-W library holdings.

Google Scholar finds scholarly sources (e.g., journal articles). Configure it to link to subscription database content.

Google Books finds and describes books; previews may allow searching the text and reading all or portions of it online.

Databases by Subject or A-Z by title list Library subscription & free databases for articles, dissertations, statistics, etc.

Journal Search searches journal, magazine or newspaper titles to see if there is access online or in other formats.

Note: Licensed resources require a UW-W login (the e-mail/Canvas Net-ID ). The Troubleshooting page may help with difficulties.

Suggested Sources for Biographies of Judges

American Bench, 24th ed. (Reference Collection, 2d fl., KF8700.A19 A44 2014)

Biography Reference Bank database (Search for judges by name)

Search the library's article databases for judges using their names as subjects, e.g., searching all EBSCOhost databases simultaneously will include Biography Reference Bank results--Click Continue, Go to the advanced search to put the name in the top search box and select the field "SU Subject Terms."

Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court (2011 ed.: see chapter 22; 1990 ed. in 3rd-floor Main Collection at KF8742 .W567 1990)

The Supreme Court A to Z (Reference Collection, 2d fl., KF8742 .A35 S8 2007)

Search Research@UWW's "Books, Media and more (UW Whitewater)" for books, using the person’s name in subject (last name first) in and Advanced Search, or try these keyword "in subject" searches:

  • Judges AND "United States" AND Biography
  • Judges AND "United States" AND History
  • "United States Supreme Court" AND History

Search the ProQuest Congressional database for confirmation hearings, as well as CRS reports, on nominated justices. An alternative for finding confirmation hearings is Research@UWW's "Books media and more (UW Whitewater)." Example search: nomin* AND kagan AND supreme

Search Westlaw Campus Research for opinions they have written or joined. 

  • Click "Cases" on the Browse menu below the search box, then "U.S. Supreme Court."  Then click "Advanced" to the right of the search box. Scroll down to enter a justice's last name in "Written By (WB)," which will find majority, concurring, or dissenting opinions written by that justice. You can combine this with putting the justice's last name in Concurring or Dissenting if you want to find non-majority opinions written by that justice (although this is not entirely accurate).

You can find many majority opinions written by a U.S. Supreme Court justice with:

<last name> /1 delivered, e.g., kavanaugh /1 delivered

When looking at a case, use "Go to" to move quickly to different parts of the case, such as the majority opinion.

See the bios on the U.S. Supreme Court web site and the SCOTUSblog site, as well as on the Oyez site.

The Library of Congress provides a research guide for sources of information about U.S. Supreme Court Nominations (since 2005).

Head, Reference & Instruction

Profile Photo
Diana Shull
Contact:
Andersen Library
Rm. 2110B
shulld@uww.edu
262.472.5011

Get help: Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk (Andersen Library)
Phone (262) 472-1032
Call or visit during Desk hours

Make an appointment

Get help: Ask a librarian (email, chat, text)

Westlaw Campus Research: Find Case Opinions

Select Cases from the Browse menu, and then select Supreme Court if desired.

 

Click Advanced Search (right of the main search box), and then put the justice's name in one of the field boxes for Concurring, Dissenting, or Written By.