Dictionary of American Government and Politics
A to Z dictionary of US government and politics, including key terms used in discussion of the political system, major figures, events, ideas, movements and Supreme Court cases relevant to a study of the American political system.
A Glossary of US Politics and Government
This Glossary explains the key concepts, institutions, personalities and events most commonly referred to in the teaching of US politics and government.
Safire's Political Dictionary
This is a guide to the political language being used and abused in America. Safire's definitions--discursive, historically aware, and often anecdotal--bring a savvy perspective to our colorful political lingo. Indeed, a Safire definition often reads like a mini-essay in political history, and readers will come away not only with a fuller understanding of particular words but also a richer knowledge of how politics works, and fails to work, in America. Many entries explain the origin of each term, how and by whom and for what purposes it has been used or twisted, as well as its perceived and real significance.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
The Almanac of American Politics 2020 by 
Constutional Amendments
This provides a complete examination of each of the 27 Constitutional Amendments.
Guide to the Presidency and the Executive Branch
This source explains every aspect of the institution of the U.S. presidency, including the structure, powers, and operations of the office and the president’s relationship with Congress and the Supreme Court.
Guide to the U. S. Supreme Court
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court covers the Court’s entire history; its operations; its power in relation to other branches of government; major decisions affecting the other branches, the states, individual rights and liberties; and biographies of the justices
An Encyclopedia of Human Rights in the United States
Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy In the United States
The encyclopedia comprehensively analyzes water-related issues in America.
American Conservatism
A comprehensive reference volume covering the movement of the past half century, with substantive entries on persons, events, organizations, and concepts of major importance to postwar American conservatism.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Coverage includes concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control.
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics
The Encyclopedia contains more than 2,000 entries,divided into four distinct sections covering African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans.
From Suffrage to the Senate
From Suffrage to the Senate is a comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.
The ProQuest Congressional database’s "Congress in Context" describes “the setting, personnel and events which may have influenced the legislation created during a particular Congressional period."
Get 24/7 help via live chat
Make an appointment with a Librarian
During Reference Desk Hours:
262-472-1032
Text us! 262-500-3393
Email
The Routledge Dictionary of Politics
This dictionary is the essential guide to politics, its terminologies, ideologies and institutions.
The Encyclopedia of Political Science
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
This 5-volume encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. Focusing primarily on developments since 1945, it covers key figures, events, and movements.
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
The encyclopedia covers all aspects of global international relations and the contemporary discipline, including the major subject divisions of international relations: diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy, and theory.
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts
This reference source covers the major ethnic conflicts that have shaped the modern world. Since World War II, significant conflicts have most often taken the form of acts of violence between ethnic or national communities inside individual states. This work uses case studies to explore some four dozen of those conflicts sand geographically encompasses nearly every continent, from African Americans in the United States and Muslims in France, to separatist movements of groups like the Chechens in Russia and Bosnians in Yugoslavia. The set is organized alphabetically by country and region. Appendices of relevant, primary source materials are also included.
Twentieth-Century War and Conflict
Drawn from the 5-volume Encyclopedia of War, this one-volume reference provides essential information on the conflicts and concepts that shaped global warfare in the twentieth-century.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
Entries explain essential concepts and philosophies, describe peace-keeping activities, and provide full coverage of every international treaty since the founding of the League of Nations, with generous quotations or full text for all key treaties, conventions, pacts, protocols, and declarations.
A Glossary of Political Theory
This book covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field. The premise underlying the book is that politics cannot be studied without theory, in which case the more concrete and relevant the theory, the better. The definitions in this glossary relate political ideas to political realities (i.e. everyday controversies) in an attempt to make them as lively, stimulating and accessible as possible. Terms are selected based upon the concepts most regularly used in teaching.
Political Theory: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary and Classic Terms
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought
The encyclopedia, covering from the birth of Islam to today, provides context needed for understanding contemporary politics in the Islamic world and focuses on the origins and evolution of Islamic political ideas and related subjects, including central terms, concepts, personalities, movements, places, and schools of thought across Islamic history.
World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties
This resource provides comprehensive coverage on the governments and political parties of the world's nations. Each country is described in terms of its system and organization of government, as well as the processes through which political parties or interests bring their influence to bear on government. Coverage includes: system of government; power and responsibilities of various government branches; the electoral system; the party system (origins, organizations, campaigning); major political parties (history, organizations, policy, membership, financing, leadership, prospects); minor political parties; other political forces; and national prospects.
Encyclopedia of Political Communication
Political communication began with the earliest studies of democratic discourse by Aristotle and Plato, but modern political communication relies on an interdisciplinary base which draws on concepts from communication, political science, journalism, sociology, psychology, history, rhetoric, and others. This resource considers political communication from this broad interdisciplinary perspective, encompassing the many different roles that communication plays in political processes in the United States and around the world.
American Decades: 2000-2009
Accessible via Gale Virtual Reference Library. Contains sections on "Government and Politics" and "Law and Justice."
American Decades (1900-1999)
