Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Biology 200: Writing in Biology: Find Articles

Biology Databases

Andersen Library subscribes to many databases that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations and the like. Online databases are the preferred way to find recent articles. If you need older articles, or cannot find any articles on your topic using online databases, ask a Librarian for assistance. Databases list articles that may or may not be owned by Andersen Library, so you may need to use Find It or the Journal Search to find the full text (see the next tab for information).

Andersen Library databases can be accessed from both on and off-campus by selecting the Articles/Databases button on the box on the Andersen Library homepage.

Below are the databases most frequently used for research in the biological sciences. For most topics in this class, start with Biological Abstracts, PubMed, and Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science)

Google Scholar

Another resource you can use to find scholarly sources is Google Scholar. It is searched the same way as regular Google, but you will find better quality materials when using Google Scholar. It primarily finds scholarly journal articles, but also finds books, book chapters, dissertations, and other sources published by academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, etc. You won't find everything that's out there or even everything that the UW-Whitewater libraries have, but it can be a useful tool.

On the UW-Whitewater campuses, Google Scholar is set up to automatically interact with Find It, a tool that will find you the full text of articles and books we have or offer you a way to borrow them for free if we do not. However, Find It does not show up for every citation that appears in Google Scholar. If no Find It link appears, try the Journal Search to see whether and where we have a particular journal, magazine or newspaper and what dates are available.

Do not pay for articles you find through Google Scholar. We can get them for you for free using ILLiad!

To set up the Find It/Google Scholar interactivity on your personal desktop computer, laptop, tablet, etc. follow these instructions:

  • Go to Google Scholar
  • Click the three bars in the upper left corner
  • Click on Settings
  • Click on Library Links
  • Type UW-Whitewater in the textbox
  • Click on magnifying glass button
  • Click in the checkbox preceding UW-Whitewater - Find It@UW-Whitewater

Psychology Databases

Andersen Library databases can be accessed from both on and off-campus by selecting the Articles/Databases tab from the box on the Andersen Library homepage.

Sociology Databases

Andersen Library databases can be accessed from both on and off-campus by selecting the Articles/Databases tab from the box on the Andersen Library homepage.

Find a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper

Research@UWW Journal Search button

Have you found the citation for an article you want in another article's bibliography or on Google Scholar? You can use the libraries' Journals Search to see whether and where the Whitewater libraries has the periodical (journal, magazine, or newspaper) that the article came from. Start by typing the periodical title (not the article title) in the box below. This is also available from the libraries' homepage.


Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.