How to Find Journal Articles

If the database you are using does not have the full text of an article, the Find It feature or link will usually be present. Use it to either retrieve the full text if the article is accessible through the Library or request a copy through our Interlibrary Loan service.

The Find It@UW-W link will appear in Google Scholar if you have it set up to interlink with our databases. It is already set up on campus workstations. Instructions for linking UW-Whitewater databases to Google Scholar on your personal device can be found in the How to Use Google Scholar library guide. 

If the Find It feature does not appear or you have a citation and are not in a database, try the Journals Search to locate a known journal. You can then search that journal for articles.

This search can be accessed by clicking on the Journals button at the top of this page or on the library homepage.

If there is no Find It feature where you are searching or you are not in a database, use the Journals Search to see whether and where the Andersen Library has the journal you want. It will retrieve titles that we have online, in print, or on microform, as well as open access journals. Make sure to note the listed dates of online and physical format coverage in the Journal record in order to see what is available to you.

For more information locating journals, please contact the Reference Desk. 

The library has been switching over to online journals, so most of our current titles are available online through database or individual title subscriptions. Print journals are for in-library use only. Faculty should contact the Circulation Desk for assistance when wishing to check out older issues from our print collection.