If you are looking for scholarly (a.k.a. peer-reviewed, academic, or refereed) journal articles on any economics topic, these databases are the best place to start -- in this order:
Citations and abstracts of journals, books, dissertations, and working papers from the American Economic Association.
Online business library database of millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. See Vendor's guide for useful information.
Peer-reviewed journals, business trade journals, and news, in both full-text coverage plus indexing and abstracts dating back as far as 1886.
An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals.
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment and includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles.
Full text articles and e-books in the areas of agriculture, energy, natural resources, water science, geography, pollution, urban planning, and more.
Full-text scholarly journals for professional educators, with citations and abstracts for hundreds more.
Full-text access to sports and sports medicine journals, including the areas of fitness, health, and sport studies.
Citations and select full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, and legal newspapers. Coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice, and taxation.
Detailed industry market reports for 700+ areas of the U.S. economy. Each report contains statistics on the previous 5 years, future 5 years’ projections, analysts’ commentary, and risk ratings. Includes some state-level and global industry reports.
If you have one specific citation, like this:
Use the 'Journals Search' in Research@UWW to search for the journal name first -- in this case, the Journal of Development Economics then browse or search within that journal to find the specific article.
Google Scholar is also great at finding one specific article. Use the directions on the Google Scholar tab of this guide to see articles accessible through UW-W library subscriptions.
Most of the content in these databases is NOT peer-reviewed, and thus may not be usable for your capstone. However, it can be useful if you need to research how an economic topic is being presented to the general, i.e. non-economist, public.
Regional business magazines, newspapers, and wires from Canada and all metropolitan and rural areas in the United States.
Full-text, individual articles from print and online editions (online edition since 2010). Does not include images, multimedia presentations, or data visualizations.
Current and archival to 1980s U.S. news featuring key national and regional sources including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
The biggest difference between scholarly and popular (e.g., newspapers, magazines) sources is that scholarly sources go through a rigorous quality check before being published, a process called Peer Review. Watch the video below to learn about it.