It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ITSCM 221: Info Technology Infrastructure: Research Tools
1. Choose an Internet of Things (IoT) technology. If you are still deciding, check out a list such as this one for Household IoT products.
What does it do? How is it used (now or anticipated future uses)? What sensor(s) are in it to enable it to do XYZ?
2. The specific product/name brand of the sensor used by a particular product is likely not publicly shared. However, think logically about what would need to be measured for the product to do XYZ:
Gyroscope and accelerometer (to sense 3D motion)
Wearable electrodes (to measure heartrate, sweat content, or other bodily chemicals)
If you're not sure, consider likely options listed in an article like this one. Search Google for Sensors in ______. Or search one of the Current News databases below for highly accessible news articles on a particular product. Often the product will use a combination of sensors.
3. Then, do some academic/scholarly research on the issues with that particular sensor. Use the sources in the Tech Articles box below.
Search a variety of current news articles from newspapers worldwide via these databases:
These articles should contain easily-accessible and readable reviews of the new technology when it was released.
ProQuest Newsstream offers access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. It includes backfiles for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries, and features published in each paper.
This database provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Business Source Complete offers peer-reviewed sources, business related journals, and full-text coverage (plus indexing and abstracts) for important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. It can also be searched using Enhanced Interface Searching.
Funding provided by the College of Business & Economics.
The Business Premium Collection includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, Accounting Tax & Banking Collection, Asian & European Business Collection, Business Market Research Collection and the Entrepreneurship Database. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Search for more detailed information about the sensor using these databases for engineering, technical, and scientific articles:
In addition to your product name or the type of sensor, consider search terms like:
ethic* (the asterisk will tell it to search for ethic, ethics, ethical, ethically...)
IoT or "Internet of Things" (use quotes around a phrase)
ScienceDirect provides full-text access to hundreds of Elsevier's peer-reviewed journals, and indexes thousands more, in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, over 50,000 scholarly books, and published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year. Powerful tools track how many times an item has been cited since publication, finds relevant items which share one or more cited references, reviews cited references that link to a full record display, and searches all cited authors.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
These "smart searching"strategies can be used when searching almost any library database. These strategies work on Google too!
Another great "smart Google" strategy: Site limiting. For example:
"humidity sensors" site:.edu -- to limit to only educational sites. Also consider site:.gov
"internet of things" site:.techcrunch.com -- to limit only to TechCrunch
Chat with academic librarians worldwide about your research
Here is just a sample of the many e-books on technical topics available. Search Research@UWW and limit in the dropdown menu for Books at UW-Whitewater to see what is in our collection.
Search for the technical term for your sensor, or the communication type.
Indoor Wireless Communications by Alejandro Aragón-ZavalaIndoor Wireless Communications: From Theory to Implementation provides an in-depth reference for design engineers, system planners and post graduate students interested in the vastly popular field of indoor wireless communications. It contains wireless applications and services for in-building scenarios and knowledge of key elements in the design and implementation of these systems. Technologies such as Wireless Local Area Networks, Bluetooth, ZigBee, Indoor Optical Communications, WiMAX, UMTS and GSM for indoor environments are fully explained and illustrated with examples. Antennas and propagation issues for in-building scenarios are also discussed, emphasizing models and antenna types specifically developed for indoor communications. An exhaustive survey on indoor wireless communication equipment is also presented, covering all available technologies including antennas, distribution systems, transceivers and base stations.
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Introduction to Digital Mobile Communication by Yoshihiko AkaiwaIntroduces digital mobile communications with an emphasis on digital transmission methods This book presents mathematical analyses of signals, mobile radio channels, and digital modulation methods. The new edition covers the evolution of wireless communications technologies and systems. The major new topics are OFDM (orthogonal frequency domain multiplexing), MIMO (multi-input multi-output) systems, frequency-domain equalization, the turbo codes, LDPC (low density parity check code), ACELP (algebraic code excited linear predictive) voice coding, dynamic scheduling for wireless packet data transmission and nonlinearity compensating digital pre-distorter amplifiers. The new systems using the above mentioned technologies include the second generation evolution systems, the third generation systems with their evolution systems, LTE and LTE-advanced systems, and advanced wireless local area network systems. The second edition of Digital Mobile Communication: Presents basic concepts and applications to a variety of mobile communication systems Discusses current applications of modern digital mobile communication systems Covers the evolution of wireless communications technologies and systems in conjunction with their background The second edition of Digital Mobile Communication is an important textbook for university students, researchers, and engineers involved in wireless communications.
Publication Date: 2015-06-15
RFID Design Principles by Harvey LehpamerThis revised edition of the Artech House bestseller, RFID Design Principles, serves as an up-to-date and comprehensive introduction to the subject. The second edition features numerous updates and brand new and expanded material on emerging topics such as the medical applications of RFID and new ethical challenges in the field. This practical book offers you a detailed understanding of RFID design essentials, key applications, and important management issues. The book explores the role of RFID technology in supply chain management, intelligent building design, transportation systems, military applications, and numerous other applications. It explains the design of RFID circuits, antennas, interfaces, data encoding schemes, and complete systems. Starting with the basics of RF and microwave propagation, you learn about major system components including tags and readers. This hands-on reference distills the latest RFID standards, and examines RFID at work in supply chain management, intelligent buildings, intelligent transportation systems, and tracking animals. RFID is controversial among privacy and consumer advocates, and this book looks at every angle concerning security, ethics, and protecting consumer data. From design details - to applications - to socio-cultural implications, this authoritative volume offers the knowledge you need to create an optimal RFID system and maximize its performance.
Publication Date: 2012-02-28
The Internet of Things by Olivier Hersent; David Boswarthick; Omar ElloumiAn all-in-one reference to the major Home Area Networking, Building Automation and AMI protocols, including 802.15.4 over radio or PLC, 6LowPAN/RPL, ZigBee 1.0 and Smart Energy 2.0, Zwave, LON, BACNet, KNX, ModBus, mBus, C.12 and DLMS/COSEM, and the new ETSI M2M system level standard. In-depth coverage of Smart-grid and EV charging use cases. This book describes the Home Area Networking, Building Automation and AMI protocols and their evolution towards open protocols based on IP such as 6LowPAN and ETSI M2M. The authors discuss the approach taken by service providers to interconnect the protocols and solve the challenge of massive scalability of machine-to-machine communication for mission-critical applications, based on the next generation machine-to-machine ETSI M2M architecture. The authors demonstrate, using the example of the smartgrid use case, how the next generation utilities, by interconnecting and activating our physical environment, will be able to deliver more energy (notably for electric vehicles) with less impact on our natural resources. Key Features: Offers a comprehensive overview of major existing M2M and AMI protocols Covers the system aspects of large scale M2M and smart grid applications Focuses on system level architecture, interworking, and nationwide use cases Explores recent emerging technologies: 6LowPAN, ZigBee SE 2.0 and ETSI M2M, and for existing technologies covers recent developments related to interworking Relates ZigBee to the issue of smartgrid, in the more general context of carrier grade M2M applications Illustrates the benefits of the smartgrid concept based on real examples, including business cases This book will be a valuable guide for project managers working on smartgrid, M2M, telecommunications and utility projects, system engineers and developers, networking companies, and home automation companies. It will also be of use to senior academic researchers, students, and policy makers and regulators.