Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

COUNSED 743: Counseling In Elementary and Middle Schools: Find Research Articles

Find the Full Text

When the full text of an article is not available in the database you are searching, use Find It button  to determine whether Andersen Library patrons have access to it via a different service.

watch a brief tutorialHow to Use Find It: Step by Step (video: no audio)

If Andersen Library does not have access to a journal or article, request it via ILLiad (Inter-library Loan)

Click Here to find out whether we have access to a particular journal or magazine.

Peer-reviewed Articles

print-based informationPeer-Reviewed vs. Trade Journals vs. Popular Articles: What's the difference?

Peer Review in Three Minutes: What is peer review? (video)

Video Tutorial: How can I find peer-reviewed articles using EBSCOhost?

 refereedUlrichsweb: How can I identify whether a journal is peer-reviewed? Search for a magazine or journal by title. If it is identified with a referee shirt, it is a refereed publication, and most articles in the publication will be peer reviewed.

Library Databases - Counselor Education

Andersen Library subscribes to over 200 databases to provide indexing and full text access to periodicals that support the department curricula. For a complete listing visit Databases A-Z.

Search Tips

Here are some search tips to remember when searching the databases.

1. Be sure to mark the "peer reviewed" or "scholarly" limit when searching for peer reviewed articles.

2. Use quotation marks around phrases (e.g. "health education", "type II diabetes")

3. Use the word "AND" between different concepts.

4. Use the word "OR" between similar concepts.

5. A common truncation symbol in the databases is the asterisk symbol *. Using this will allow you to search for various forms of the word in one step. For example, strateg* will search for strategy, strategies, strategize, and strategic.

Here are some example searches:

  • ("experimental methods" or "nontraditional education" or "experimental teaching") and autism
  • (treatment* or strateg* or approach* or method*) and "Prader Willi Syndrome"
  • "health education" and (certif* or credent*)

View a brief tutorial