Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

How to Find Journal Articles: Finding Articles and Journals

Using Find It to Locate Articles

If the database you are using does not have the full text of an article, the Find It button  or link usually appears. Use it to see whether you can retrieve the full text elsewhere online (use the View It link) or physically in the Library (use the Get It link). Get It will also offer inter-library loan when we do not have access to an item in any format.

Find It will also appear in Google Scholar if you have it set up to interlink with our databases. It is already set up on campus workstations. Instructions for setting up Google Scholar on your personal device are here: http://libguides.uww.edu/googlescholar

If the Find It feature does not appear, try the Journals search to locate the journal. You can then search that journal for the article.

Using the Journals Search to Locate Journals

If the Find It feature does not appear or you have a citation and are not in a database, try the Journals Search to locate a known journal. You can then search that journal for articles.

This search can be accessed by clicking on the Journals tab on the box on the library homepage.

If there is no Find It feature where you are searching or you are not in a database, use the Journals Search to see whether and where the Andersen Library has the journal you want. It will retrieve titles that we have online, in print, or on microform, as well as open access journals. It is important to note the listed dates of online and physical format coverage in order to see what is available to you.

Our journals are available online as well as in several locations on the first floor of the Library, including: Current Periodicals, Periodicals Bound Stacks, and Periodicals, Microform (fiche and film). 

Checking Out a Journal

The library has been switching over to online journals, so most of our current titles are available online through database or individual title subscriptions. Print journals are for in-library use. However, faculty may check out older issues; ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance. 

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.