Databases with Translation Tools | Herramientas de traducción - Bilingual Resource Guide for Heritage Spanish Speakers | Guía de Recursos Bilingües para Hispanohablantes - Research, Citation, & Class Guides at University of Wisconsin Whitewater

Databases with Translation Tools | Herramientas de traducción

When viewing any HTML (not PDF format) article using any EBSCOhost database, you have the option to translate an article into another language. When you click on the the "Choose Language" menu from the Translate tool, the drop down menu provides a wide selection of languages to choose from.

Al ver cualquier artículo HTML (no en formato PDF) utilizando cualquier base de datos de EBSCOhost, tienes la opción de traducir un artículo a otro idioma. Cuando haces clic en el menú "Choose Language" de la herramienta "Translate," el menú desplegable proporciona una amplia selección de idiomas para elegir.

Step 1

The article selected must have HTML Full Text in order to translate within the EBSCOhost app. Tap the HTML Full Text option.

El artículo seleccionado debe tener texto completo HTML para poder traducirlo dentro de la aplicación EBSCOhost. Toque la opción HTML Full Text.

screensnip showing an eBSCO article in search results with HTML full text option

Step 2

Once you see the complete article in html full text, choose your language from the "Choose Language" Translate tool.

Una vez que veas el artículo completo en texto completo HTML, elije tu idioma en la herramienta de traducción "Choose Language".

screensnip showing the translate tool and menu in the html full text view

Now you try it! | ¡Pruébalo!

Tap this article title, and use the translate tool yourself: | ¡Pruébalo! Toca el título de este artículo y utiliza la herramienta de traducción tu mismo:

A Naturalistic Study of Child and Family Screen Media and Mobile Device Use

EBSCOhost Databases to Start With | Bases de datos de EBSCOhost para comenzar:

MasterFILE Complete
Popular full-text magazines, reference books, and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Plus includes an extensive collection of photos, maps, and flags.
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles from over 7,000 journals (including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals), magazines, and reference sources.
“You may browse content on the EBSCOlearning site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.”.
Please see EBSCOlearning Quick Start Guide for further instructions and information.

EBSCOhost
Access to a variety of databases including Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Business Source Complete, Consumer Health Complete, MasterFILE Premier, Newspaper Source Plus, and others.

Translation options are available when viewing an article in HTML (not as the PDF). You can choose to translate either a document's abstract or its full text independently of one another. Click the "Translate" link corresponding to either one, and select a language.

Please note that database articles are "machine translated." A translation generated by machine-translation software is no substitute for a professional human translator. Therefore the UWW Libraries and the database providers do not take responsibility for the accuracy, reliability or completeness of any translation.

Alternatively, you may change the ProQuest search interface language, by hovering over "English" in the upper right.

Original content on this tab provided with permission by National University Library.

The "Document Translation" feature can be found in the article's toolbox on the right-hand side of the page.

Alternatively, you may change the Gale search interface language, by hovering over "English" in the upper right.

Original content on this tab provided with permission by National University Library.

You may change the Web of Science search interface language by selecting clicking "English" in the upper right. Note that Web of Knowledge does not contain full text articles, so you will be translating only the search interface and resulting article citations.

Original content on this tab provided with permission by National University Library.

This will include "how to" screensnips and links to databases with this feature.

Include an overview video?

Please note that database articles are "machine translated." A translation generated by machine-translation software is no substitute for a professional human translator. Therefore, the UWW Libraries and the database providers do not take responsibility for the accuracy, reliability or completeness of any translation.

Ten en cuenta que los artículos de bases de datos están "traducidos automáticamente". Una traducción generada por un software de traducción automática no sustituye a un traductor humano profesional. Por lo tanto, las Bibliotecas UWW y los proveedores de bases de datos no se hacen responsables de la exactitud, confiabilidad o integridad de cualquier traducción.