Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstor is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Flickr: The Commons
Find millions of Creative Commons photographs that are copyright-free. Look for the Creative Commons icons for the type of permitted use.
Foter: Free Stock Photos & Images
Search, manage and add over 190 million free Creative Commons images from many online sources.
The embed code contains all necessary CC attributions.
Google Advanced Image Search
Images, videos, and music found using Google are NOT automatically available for you to freely use. To get to the images that have a Creative Commons license, narrow your Advanced Image Search results by "usage rights" by clicking on "not filtered by license" and changing that to one of the other available options."
Library of Congress' Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
offers access to thousands of images. Many images have information for citing in the catalog record.
The Louvre Collections
Can't get to Paris to visit the Louvre? No worries, digital images of all the works of art in the Louvre's collections are now available online.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Online
Nearly 400,000 of the Museum's high resolution digital images are freely available for non-commercial use. The Image Resources
“contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects by visitors to the site.” You still need to give credit to the photographer who took the photo.
University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The UWDC provides quality digital resources from University of Wisconsin libraries to UW faculty, staff and students, citizens of the state, and scholars at large. Resources within the collections are free and publicly accessible online.
Use this wiki-style database of images in the Public Domain or with Creative Commons licenses.
Free icons and maps to use in presentations.
Children's and Other Books
The Curriculum Collection (PreK-12) has many books with photographs and illustrations. But many other books in the Library are likely to have images, illustrations or photographs. To search for books in the any of the Library's collections, use Research@UWW.
Here are some sample searches. The * symbol will allow you to truncate a word and find any word ending that start with that root. The parentheses will allow you to group similar terms together, using "or" and then combine them with other terms, using "and." Quotation marks will allow you to search for specific phrases.
After doing the search, you can use the Resource Type and Location facets on the left sidebar to limit to specific types of material or locations (you may have to scroll down a bit to see the Locations facet).
About Creative Commons
The Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing of images and other works by their creators. The Creative Commons allows creators to set the copyright conditions of their choice, including placing them in the public domain. A work may be used as long as the terms of the license that governs it is followed. See the Creative Commons Frequently Asked Questions page for details.
Creative Commons Search
This link allows you to search Creative Commons content across sites like Flickr, Fotopedia, Google Images, and Open Clip Art Library.
Pixabay allows users to find and share images free of copyrights. The free pictures are published under Creative Commons public domain deed CC0
, though there are also Shutterstock images available for a fee.
About Public Domain
When looking for images that can be used freely, finding works that are in the public domain is very helpful as they can be freely used without seeking permission or paying royalties. Public domain is a term that applies to intellectual property that is not protected by copyright, either because the copyright term has expired or because the work was never under copyright protection. The United States Copyright Office states that "works in the public domain may be used freely without the permission of the former copyright owner." However, it is useful to cite or attribute the work, just as with any copyrighted work.