Newspaper articles written at or near the time an event occurred by someone with first-hand knowledge of what happened can be a great source of primary material. Careful! Newspaper articles are not always primary source. Ask if you are not certain
Full page and individual article images with searchable full text from 1851-5 years ago
Full page and article images with searchable full text from 1849 to 24 years ago.
Some content withheld due to copyright.
Full page and individual articles from historic newspapers from Wisconsin.
Search 270 historical newspapers published for African American communities between 1827-1998.
Regional, local, and state newspapers from the 1700s-2000s. Includes 150 Wisconsin-specific titles including the Janesville Daily Gazette, the Racine Daily Herald, the Eau Claire Leader, and many more.
Primary source material from 18th & 19th century magazines and books, including eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of everyday life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records.
Primary source newspapers published from 1728 to the late 1990s. Includes thousands of titles from all 50 states.
Database with global, national, and regional news, featuring newspapers, newswires, magazines, and video in English and many other languages.
Primary Source alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced during the latter half of the 20th century. Includes 3 main collections with many sub-collections: American Prison Newspapers, Independent Voices, and Student Activism.
Search 170+ periodicals written by and about African Americans. Published from 1825-1995, the publications include academic and political journals, magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.