It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
(2014 version) This includes explanations of test answer for the practice test above.
The following books and electronic books are available through UW-W Andersen Library:
ABSOLUTELY NOT Another Reading Test Study Guide by Cindy Cate; Lynda Fernholz; Jeannette ArmstrongReading methods instructors, preservice and practicing teachers must meet the challenges of cultivating a solid understanding of effective literacy practices to get ready to teach in classrooms across the country. If necessary-depending on the state you live in-you must pass the required foundational reading tests and student teacher performance assessments. Policies and mandates come and go, but meeting the challenge of understanding and implementing effective literacy practices never fades. This book is organized into five sections with 14 chapters. Features include more than 70 chapter questions (similar to those found on literacy exams for teacher certification), teacher performance assessment support, a delightful cast of animated characters, graphic organizers at the end of each chapter, and QR code links to a custom website. Section I: Preparing to Teach nurtures the heart and mind of preservice teachers and educators alike. The content commits to a comprehensive view of mindful, responsive, and effective teaching and learning. It provides instructors, preservice and practicing teachers a welcoming place to return, tracking their connections as they explore the other chapters. It celebrates community, conversation, and a commitment to the students we teach. Like starting a garden from scratch or improving the soil of an existing one, we begin with a deeper, more fertile view of literacy, so in turn, all learners thrive. Section II: Literacy-Rich Environment examines how literacy behaviors intertwine and grow through each developmental stage. From the beginning, young children need quality literacy instruction and authentic reading and writing tasks. Whether a student is producing or receiving language, proficiency in the written, oral and visual skills of the language arts is critical. Like the master gardener, the most fertile literacy conditions nourish our students' minds and hearts.Section III: Essential Components is devoted to teaching practices that support knowing how words work and their meanings, fluency, comprehension, and assessment. These essential components are highlighted in their respective chapters; however, they are also dispersed throughout all our chapters. Suggestions are also offered for working with English language learners as well as reluctant and struggling learners. Section IV: Cultivating Knowledge waters the seeds of learning from each chapter to pass reading tests and educational teacher performance assessments. It is vital to share with readers the vision of effective and responsive literacy practices while still recognizing the gravity of initial teacher assessments. The authors share variegated voices, strategies, and tips to successfully answer multiple-choice questions, open response essays, and written commentaries. Section V: Literacy Supplies farms our favorite teaching methods and strategies that instructors use in their methods courses. Know and Grow words in each chapter are presented through a manipulative, engaging vocabulary strategy. This activity is an effective way to learn words in the context before and after reading. The Flashcard Glossary chapter puts a unique twist on learning words, as words are organized into flashcard format.The editors and contributors are a diverse village of concerned literacy experts, educators, preservice teachers, and friends. With determination, they mindfully plow these assessments within responsive literacy practices in preparation to teach and if necessary pass specific assessments that many states have mandated for initial teaching and reading licensure. In doing so, our practices match our beliefs about teaching and learning.
Making Content Comprehensible for English Learners by Jana J. Echevarria; MaryEllen J. Vogt; Deborah J. ShortMaking Content Comprehensible for English Learners: The SIOP ® Model is one of the most influential books in the field and in this new fourth edition the authors present the most comprehensive, coherent model of sheltered instruction yet by fully explaining the widely popular SIOP®(Sheltered Instruction Observation Protocol) Model and providing lesson plans and instructional activities to help teachers implement it effectively in K-12 classrooms. From its opening overview of the issues related to educating English learners to its new Chapter 12 that presents frequently asked questions with answers from the authors to help teachers get started implementing SIOP®, the book provides school administrators, teachers, coaches, teacher candidates, university faculty, and field experience supervisors with a superior tool for improving the education of English learners and promoting their academic gains. New with the fourth edition is an accompanying online resource site, PDToolkit for SIOP®. The new website includes: Information About the Authors SIOP® Research SIOP® Resources SIOP® Lesson Plans and Activities SIOP® Videos To learn more, please visit:http://pdtoolkit.pearson.com.
Publication Date: 2013
Phonics and Word Study for the Teacher of Reading by Barbara J. FoxPhonics and Word Study for the Teacher of Reading is a self-paced, self-instruction program designed to help teachers independently develop a comprehensive background in phonics, syllable and accent patterns, onset-rime, the morphemes that contribute to word meaning, and phonological and phonemic awareness. The unique structure of the book is set up to ensure learning success through a careful sequence of material that guides readers through the material, coupled with a number of pedagogical aids that check reader understanding at various stages in the learning process. Throughout the book, readers see how to connect the information they're studying with grade-specific learning expectations described in the Foundational Skills strand of the Common Core State Standards.
Reading Basics for All Teachers by Lin Carver; Lauren PantojaReading Basics for All Teachers: Supporting the Common Core guides teachers as they provide literacy instruction in every subject area. The components of the reading process are analyzed and provide the reader with an understanding of foundational reading skills as well as the shifts in literacy instruction. With the increased importance of complex texts and the use of textual evidence in support of comprehension, every teacher needs to be prepared to champion literacy development. Each chapter analyzes one of the strands of the literacy process. The characteristics and impact of oral language, phonological awareness, decoding, phonics and word analysis, fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension are addressed in depth. The strands that students must master to become proficient readers are examined in each chapter. Classroom visits and literary connections help the reader visualize the strands' impact on instruction. Then the overarching why is addressed by analyzing research supporting the instruction in each of the strands. Assessments and activities are incorporated to support the understanding and implementation of each strand in order to move readers from theory to practice. As readers tie the strands of reading together to form an understanding of the entire process, they will see how their instructional practices can impact effective literacy instruction in every subject area.
Publication Date: 2015
Self-Paced Phonics by Roger S. Dow; G. Thomas BaerSelf-Paced Phonics: A Text for Educators, Fifth Edition, is the ideal resource for pre-service and in-service teachers to get practical instruction that helps them develop a sound understanding of both the content and pedagogy of phonics. More than a tutorial in phonics, this self-regulating, self-monitoring resource covers both the content and pedagogy of phonics. Designed for use with a minimum of instruction, at the reader's own pace, the book is particularly teacher-friendly and immediately applicable to Web-based instructional models.
WI Foundations of Reading by Mary StephensWI Foundations of Reading - This book is designed to help you succeed on Wisconsin's Foundations of Reading teacher licensing exam. It covers phonological and phonemic awareness, print awareness, the alphabetic principle, phonics, word analysis, vocabulary, reading comprehension, theories for instruction, and assessment. Testing tips, study strategies, diagnostics, lessons targeted to test objectives, hundreds of multiple choice questions with detailed explanations, extensive reporting, and a glossary of domain-specific terms work together to consolidate your learning experience. You can simulate your test day with the open response questions and a full-length practice test. Please visit www.prepforward.com for additional information about PrepForward's teacher preparation materials.
Publication Date: 2016
Wisconsin Foundations of Reading Test Secrets Study Guide by Reading Exam Secrets Test Prep Staff (Editor)***Includes Practice Test Questions*** Wisconsin Foundations of Reading Test Secrets helps you ace the Wisconsin Foundations of Reading Test, without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive Wisconsin Foundations of Reading Test Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test. Our original research reveals specific weaknesses that you can exploit to increase your exam score more than you've ever imagined. Wisconsin Foundations of Reading Test Secrets includes: The 5 Secret Keys to Test Success: Time is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, Test Yourself; A comprehensive General Strategy review including: Make Predictions, Answer the Question, Benchmark, Valid Information, Avoid Fact Traps, Milk the Question, The Trap of Familiarity, Eliminate Answers, Tough Questions, Brainstorm, Read Carefully, Face Value, Prefixes, Hedge Phrases, Switchback Words, New Information, Time Management, Contextual Clues, Don't Panic, Pace Yourself, Answer Selection, Check Your Work, Beware of Directly Quoted Answers, Slang, Extreme Statements, Answer Choice Families; Along with a complete, in-depth study guide for your exam, and much more...