Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is This?
The purpose of this guide is to suggest sources of information about biological organism classification and phylogeny. These are not the only resources which can be used, but are rather suggested as starting points for your research.
Animal Diversity Web (ADW)
Online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan
Catalogue of Life
Browsable and searchable by common or scientific name, provides classification information about flora and fauna and has a link at the bottom of each record that provides a page of further information and print or electronic resources about the species in question
DiscoverLife essentially an encyclopedia and identification guide for all different types of flora and fauna, has taxonomy diagrams, may be browsed or searches
Encyclopedia of Life
Searchable guide of all species of flora and fauna
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
Taxonomy information database of all species of flora and fauna searchable by scientific or common name
NCBI Taxonomy Browser
Tells full lineage of species of flora and fauna and provides links to many reputable sources of information about the species. Search it using the box at the top of the screen
USDA Plants Database is searchable by common or scientific name, provides classification and a list of print references containing information about plant species
TreeBASE: A Database of Phylogenic Knowledge
Searchable database of trees containing studies and information about tree species, including outside links to many other reputable websites
Tree of Life Web Project
Browsable taxonomy chart. Also searchable for all types of flora and fauna
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Chat with a Librarian!
Chat with academic librarians worldwide about your research
Get Help: Ask a Librarian
This LibGuide was originally created by Christine Fary as part of her fieldwork at UW-Whitewater's Andersen Library in spring 2012. It has since been regularly updated.