It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Media - Public Performance and Streaming Licenses: Streaming Media Resources
Films on Demand is a streaming video library offering access to over 38,000 titles covering a wide range of academic subjects. Content includes documentaries, lectures, instructional/curricular videos, and historical primary source videos.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Kanopy Streaming service provides access to thousands of documentaries and feature films from many of the leading producers, including The Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, and hundreds more.
Note: All films must be requested through a Kanopy form and take 24 hours after approval to be activated.
Partial funding provided by Student Technology Fees
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Naxos Music Library is the world's largest online classical music library. It offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, both standard and rare repertoire. In addition, it contains study materials, reference works, and opera libretti. Note: This resource is limited to 10 users at a time.
This Psychotherapy.net collection offers streaming videos which show actual psychotherapy sessions, and experts discuss their thoughts behind their interventions. Our subscription includes 50 videos selected by Counselor Ed and Social Work faculty, covering a wide range of modalities, theoretical approaches, and populations.
The Psychotherapy.net Collection includes more than 150 in-depth training videos from one of the counseling professions’ most respected video providers. All Psychotherapy.net titles are created by and for psychotherapists and provide reliable, detailed instructions for serving diverse populations and therapeutic issues.
Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive, bringing the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection
Free Streaming Video
This list is just a few of the many websites providing free streaming. It by no means is meant to be comprehensive.
This site contains video, audio, and text of speeches and other media events. Among the collections are "Obama Speeches," "Movie Speeches," and a listing of what some scholars consider the top 100 American speeches.
Open Culture provides over 1000 movies that can be viewed online for free, gathered from a variety of sources across the web. The movies are split up by genre and the list includes a short explanation of each one.
Tubi is a free, on-demand video app with a large library of over 20,000 movies and TV shows. In order to keep the service free and legal, they include ads at various points throughout the video, so you must determine if this is acceptable in your situation.
Offering a mix of free, rent, or purchase, this YouTube channel may have what you need. Based upon the movie rating, you may be required to sign into your YouTube account. This is a free account with a valid email address.
Check Streaming Availability
It is hard to keep up with all the varied and ever-growing list of streaming platforms, but luckily these two sites attempt to consolidate many of them into one easy location. This article describes the highlights of each resource and recommends checking both, as neither will be 100% complete.
Browse, search, and watch TV & Movies from over 150 services, Netflix, Hulu, HBO, Disney+, Prime Video, Free Services and more!
Netflix at UWW
Despite repeated requests from most users, Netflix does NOT offer streaming service at the institution level. It remains a subscription-based service at the personal user level with no indication of a change to that pricing model.