Get 24/7 help via live chat
Make an appointment with a Librarian
During Reference Desk Hours:
262-472-1032
Text us! 262-500-3393
Email
This LibGuide is intended to highlight Andersen Library resources that support the Depar
tment of Kinesiology (formerly Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Coaching). Be sure to also visit the Department of Kinesiology Home Page for information regarding the program, courses, licensure, and professional organizations.
Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to recommend titles of books and other resources for the Library. Recommendations may be placed online. (For more costly titles, faculty and staff, please contact your Department Library Representative to coordinate available library allocations.)
Browse titles recommended by the faculty and staff of Department of HPERC / Kinesiology by year.
Yoga Body by
Yoga is so prevalent in the modern world--practiced by pop stars, taught in schools, and offered in yoga centers, health clubs, and even shopping malls--that we take its presence, and its meaning, for granted. But how did the current yoga boom happen? And is it really rooted in ancient Indian practices, as many of its adherents claim? In this groundbreaking book, Mark Singleton calls into question many commonly held beliefs about the nature and origins of postural yoga (asana) and suggests a radically new way of understanding the meaning of yoga as it is practiced by millions of people across the world today. Singleton shows that, contrary to popular belief, there is no evidence in the Indian tradition for the kind of health and fitness-oriented asana practice that dominates the global yoga scene of the twenty-first century. Singleton's surprising--and surely controversial--thesis is that yoga as it is popularly practiced today owes a greater debt to modern Indian nationalism and, even more surprisingly, to the spiritual aspirations of European bodybuilding and early 20th-century women's gymnastic movements of Europe and America, than it does to any ancient Indian yoga tradition. This discovery enables Singleton to explain, as no one has done before, how the most prevalent forms of postural yoga, like Ashtanga, Bikram and "Hatha" yoga, came to be the hugely popular phenomena they are today. Drawing on a wealth of rare documents from archives in India, the UK and the USA, as well as interviews with the few remaining, now very elderly figures in the 1930s Mysore asana revival, Yoga Body turns the conventional wisdom about yoga on its head.
Yoga Body by
Yoga is so prevalent in the modern world--practiced by pop stars, taught in schools, and offered in yoga centers, health clubs, and even shopping malls--that we take its presence, and its meaning, for granted. But how did the current yoga boom happen? And is it really rooted in ancient Indian practices, as many of its adherents claim? In this groundbreaking book, Mark Singleton calls into question many commonly held beliefs about the nature and origins of postural yoga (asana) and suggests a radically new way of understanding the meaning of yoga as it is practiced by millions of people across the world today. Singleton shows that, contrary to popular belief, there is no evidence in the Indian tradition for the kind of health and fitness-oriented asana practice that dominates the global yoga scene of the twenty-first century. Singleton's surprising--and surely controversial--thesis is that yoga as it is popularly practiced today owes a greater debt to modern Indian nationalism and, even more surprisingly, to the spiritual aspirations of European bodybuilding and early 20th-century women's gymnastic movements of Europe and America, than it does to any ancient Indian yoga tradition. This discovery enables Singleton to explain, as no one has done before, how the most prevalent forms of postural yoga, like Ashtanga, Bikram and "Hatha" yoga, came to be the hugely popular phenomena they are today. Drawing on a wealth of rare documents from archives in India, the UK and the USA, as well as interviews with the few remaining, now very elderly figures in the 1930s Mysore asana revival, Yoga Body turns the conventional wisdom about yoga on its head.
Human Enhancement Drugs by
Despite increasing interest in the use of human enhancement drugs (HEDs), our understanding of this phenomenon and the regulatory framework used to address it has lagged behind. Encompassing public health, epidemiology, neuroethics, sport science, criminology, and sociology, this book brings together a broad spectrum of scholarly insights and research expertise from leading authorities to examine key international issues in the field of HEDs. As "traditional" and other "new" drug markets have occupied much of the academic attention, there has been a lack of scholarly focus on human enhancement drugs. This book provides readers with a much-needed understanding of the illicit drug market of HEDs. The authors, from a variety of cultural contexts, disciplines and perspectives, include both academics and practitioners. Topics explored in this collection amongst others include: * The anti-doping industry and performance and image enhancing drugs * Steroids and gender * The use of cognitive enhancing drugs in academia * The use of sunless synthetic tanning products * The (online) trade of HEDs * Regulations of the enhancement drugs market This collection will serve as a reference for students, academics, practitioners, law enforcement and others working in this area to reflect on the current state of research and consider future priorities. This detailed exploration will provide a valuable knowledge base for those interested in human enhancement drugs, while also promoting critical discussion. r * The use of cognitive enhancing drugs in academia * The use of sunless synthetic tanning products * The (online) trade of HEDs * Regulations of the enhancement drugs market This collection will serve as a reference for students, academics, practitioners, law enforcement and others working in this area to reflect on the current state of research and consider future priorities. This detailed exploration will provide a valuable knowledge base for those interested in human enhancement drugs, while also promoting critical discussion.
The SAGE Handbook of Sport Management by
The SAGE Handbook of Sport Management draws together the best current research on the major topics relevant to the field of sports management, including leadership, gender, diversity, development, policy, tourism, and media. Edited by two of the most respected figures in the field, the handbook includes contributions from leading sport management academics from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, USA, the UK and Europe.
American Sports by 
The Hidden Mechanics of Exercise by 
Official Study Guide for the Certified Park and Recreation Professional Examination
Orthopaedic Sports Medicine by
Covers clinical challenges of both pediatric and aging athletes; non-orthopaedic conditions involved in the management of the athlete; rapidly evolving techniques; and sports-related fractures.
Presents rehabilitation and other therapies in the context of return to play.
Covers arthroscopic techniques, as well as injury prevention, nutrition, pharmacology, and psychology in sports.
Sports Nutrition by 
This Is Your Brain on Sports by 