Research, Citation, & Class Guides: CORE (GenEd) 130: Individual and Society: Overview

Finding Articles for Your Group Project

For the signature assignment in GenEd 130, your group needs to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on a social issue. Each group member needs to find at least one article from a particular disciplinary perspective. The following videos will show you how to use two specific Library databases to find the articles that you need. By using these specific databases, you don't have to worry about trying to figure out what discipline the article comes from--you will use the search limits in these databases to narrow your results to particular fields of study. The two databases are:

JSTOR
Use this database if you are looking for articles from the disciplines of Anthropology, Gender & Women's Studies, or Sociology.
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.
APA PsycArticles
Use this database for articles from the discipline of Psychology.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Anthropology, Gender & Women's Studies, or Sociology

Psychology

Finding Books with Research@UWW

Use this box to quickly search Research@UWW for books, media, and more at UW-Whitewater.

APA Citation Style

Citing Using APA Style

Citing References: APA Style
Use the APA citation guide from Andersen Library to help you cite your sources in APA style. This guide is based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) This guide has an editable template in MS Word for student papers.
Getting Started with APA Style
Take this Andersen Library tutorial to learn why to cite and how to use APA style.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Cut & Paste Doesn't Cut It
This Andersen Library tutorial shows you how to avoid plagiarizing.
Quoting and Paraphrasing Sources
Learn about plagiarism from the UW-Madison's Writing Center.