Research, Citation, & Class Guides: EDFOUND 341: Urban Education Issues and Policies: Find Policies in the News (Secondary Sources)

Policies in the News

Databases will search thousands of news sources at one time, and will find a broad range of sources and opinions.

Tip: Use news to locate information regarding the immediate reactions to the act, legislation, or court ruling.

Tip: Limit the search to the weeks, months, or other appropriate time period after the event.

Newspaper Source Plus
Selected full text for over 1,520 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and television and radio news transcripts.
Ethnic Sources
Newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, covering 1982-present.
Part of Access World News subscription.

Chronicle of Higher Education
News, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and administration in the United States, Canada, and abroad.

EdWeek Policies
Education news, analysis, and opinion about the legislation, guidance, policies and people involved in federal and state government. UW-W does not subscribe to EdWeek, but you will have access to a limited number of articles per day and you may choose to subscribe for additional free access.

CQ Researcher
BROWSE to Education Policy.
Contains in-depth research on current topics with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues and bibliographies for further information.
Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography, and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
ERIC (via EBSCOhost)
For policy assessment, narrow search by Publication Type: Reports - Evaluative
JSTOR
An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals.
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.