These databases will provide the most independent, peer-reviewed, economic theory-based research. Search for any keyword or topic within them.
Citations and abstracts of journals, books, dissertations, and working papers from the American Economic Association.
Online business library database of millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. See Vendor's guide for useful information.
Peer-reviewed journals, business trade journals, and news, in both full-text coverage plus indexing and abstracts dating back as far as 1886.
An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals.
A multidisciplinary database with citations to thousands of journals, books, and published proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
If you would rather search within a specific journal, here are a few highly-regarded titles in our subscriptions:
These are generally shorter and more practical than scholarly sources -- intended for the practitioner rather than the researcher.
Regional business magazines, newspapers, and wires from Canada and all metropolitan and rural areas in the United States.
Peer-reviewed journals, business trade journals, and news, in both full-text coverage plus indexing and abstracts dating back as far as 1886.
Full-text, individual articles from print and online editions (online edition since 2010). Does not include images, multimedia presentations, or data visualizations.
Some scholarly content, as well as some government information and datasets, can be found on Google, Bing, or other commercial search engines.
The most useful search tip: Use site limiting.
Type site:.gov or site:.edu (no space after the colon!) in the search box, along with your regular search words. It'll limit only to government or educational institution websites.
This is a different search than regular Google -- it contains more scholarly, government, and school repository sites. It's bigger than any single library database, so it can be a great place to look if you are not finding much in the library databases.
The downside is that these sources are often not free. If you find good content, but it's asking you to pay -- DON'T PAY! First, connect Google Scholar to UW-W library to see what we already have access to. If we don't have it that way, then request the item via InterLibrary Loan for free.
The biggest difference between scholarly and popular (e.g., newspapers, magazines) sources is that scholarly sources go through a rigorous quality check before being published, a process called Peer Review. Watch the video below to learn about it.
