Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Communication 417/617: Communication and Nonprofit Organizations: News & Articles

General Article Databases

There are many sources that discuss nonprofit organizations. By using library resources listed on this page you can feel confident that you are reading credible information. Looking for both scholarly and news articles is a great way to find background information on a specific nonprofit or the nonprofit sector in general.

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database which provides more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. A great starting point for your research.
“You may browse content on the EBSCOlearning site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.”.
Please see EBSCOlearning Quick Start Guide for further instructions and information.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.
CQ Researcher
Contains in-depth research on current topics with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues and bibliographies for further information.
Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography, and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Wiley Online Library
Full text access to multidisciplinary journal articles via the Wiley Online Library interface.
SAGE Journals
Full-text access to hundreds of peer-reviewed journals in the areas of Health Sciences; Life & Biomedical Sciences; Materials Science & Engineering; and Social Sciences & Humanities.

Business Article Databases

Current News

Wall Street Journal Current, 1984-present
Full-text, individual articles from print and online editions (online edition since 2010). Does not include images, multimedia presentations, or data visualizations.
US Newsstream
Current and archival to 1980s U.S. news featuring key national and regional sources including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Regional Business News
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for 75 regional business publications from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Access World News Research Collection
Database with global, national, and regional news, featuring newspapers, newswires, magazines, and video in English and many other languages.

Communication 417/617: Communication and Nonprofit Organizations

Full Research@UWW Search Box

Research@UWW

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Get Help: Contact a Librarian

General Article Databases

Business Article Databases

Current News

Web Sources for Nonprofit News