Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

English 404: Shakespeare: Finding Books

Research@UWW

Research@UWW is a one-stop solution for the discovery and delivery of books, ebooks, government documents, media, articles, images, and more. It includes many, but not all, of the UWW libraries' databases in addition to records for all physical materials in UW System libraries. 

Log in after your first search to ensure you're seeing all available citation and have seamless access to full text and UW Request borrowing.

Research@UWW

Book Stack Directory

Find Books on ShelvesWant to know where your book is located in the stacks of the Main or Main Oversize Collection? You can look it up on this Book Stack Directory with map.

Off-Campus Access

Databases and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.

The first time you click on a database name, you'll be prompted to log into the proxy server with your UW-W Net-ID and password (just like you do to access your UW-W email, WINS account, and Canvas courses). After a while of non-use you will be timed out. Just sign in again.

If you have issues logging in or accessing online full text articles and books, please check the Troubleshooting section of our Get Help page for known issues. The three most common solutions are: 

  1. Use the most recent version of Chrome, Firefox, or Safari browser (Edge and Internet Explorer can cause access problems)
  2. Use Citrix (step by step instructions) from this webpage: https://gateway.uww.edu
  3. Use the VPN (Virtual Private Network). Want to watch a video on VPN? See http://youtu.be/hE-f8-Zp7jU

Note: Research@UWW does not require that you sign in at first. However, you should sign in anyway after your first search for seamless access to more full text and to Request/UW Request borrowing.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online: Premium 
Restricted to 1 user at a time. If it doesn't work for you, try back in a few minutes.

Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection also includes over 50,000 in-depth scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving wide access to a comprehensive information resource.

Includes books such as the An A-Z Guide to Shakespeare, The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare, The Oxford Dictionary of Plays, and The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature.

Ebook Central Search

Ebook Central, is a large ebook database subscribed to by the Andersen Library. It contains over 120,000 online books on a wide variety of topics. Search it by typing your query in the box below. 

EbscoHost eBooks Search

This database is a collection of online books on a variety of topics. Search the full text of Ebsco's eBook Collection by typing your query in the box below:

Search EBSCOhost eBook Collection

Gale eBooks Search

Search full text of Gale Virtual Reference Library ebooks by typing your query in the box below:

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.