Research, Citation, & Class Guides: English 404/405: Shakespeare: Find Articles

Library Databases

Andersen Library subscribes to many databases that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations and the like. Other databases the library has contain legal cases, business information, and more. Online databases and Research@UWW are two ways to find recent articles. If you need older articles, or cannot find any articles on your topic using Research@UWW or online databases, Ask a Librarian in person, over the phone, by email, or through chat for assistance. Databases and Research@UWW list articles that may or may not be owned by the Library. Databases, Research@UWW, and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.

Below are a few databases you may wish to search individually. Find more by selecting the Articles/Databases button on the Library homepage and choosing a subject.

Access World News Research Collection
great resource for finding performance reviews, news, and more
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Gale Literature
Indexing and full text for most of Shakespearean Criticism and Drama Criticism series and more. If a piece is not available online, we will have it in print in the library.
Humanities International Complete
great resource for finding literary criticism as well as performance reviews
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
JSTOR
Full text access to complete runs of back issues of scholarly journal, including Shakespeare Quarterly, Shakespeare Association Bulletin, Renaissance Drama, and other relevant journals
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.
MLA International Bibliography
Largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in literature, drama, and more.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Great resource for finding performance reviews and more. Restricted to one user at a time, so if is doesn't work try again later.
Includes dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more.
Project Muse
Full text access to scholarly journals in the humanities and other subject areas. Includes Shakespeare Bulletin, Shakespeare Quarterly, and additional relevant periodicals
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Academic Search Complete
All purpose databases on many topics, including literature. Especially good for finding performance reviews.
Partial funding provided by Student Technology Fees.

Research@UWW

Research@UWW is a one-stop solution for the discovery and delivery of articles, books, ebooks, government documents, media, images, and more. It includes many, but not all, of the Library's databases. If you need more specialized information or want to look at a database not searched by Research@UWW, search individual databases.

Log in after your first search to ensure you're seeing all available citation and have seamless access to full text and UW Request borrowing.

Off-Campus Access

Databases and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.

The first time you click on a database name, you'll be prompted to log into the proxy server with your UW-W Net-ID and password (just like you do to access your UW-W email, WINS account, and Canvas courses). After a while of non-use you will be timed out. Just sign in again.

If you have issues logging in or accessing online full text articles and books, please check the Troubleshooting section of our Get Help page for known issues. The three most common solutions are:

Use the most recent version of Chrome, Firefox, or Safari browser (Edge and Internet Explorer can cause access problems)
Use Citrix (step by step instructions) from this webpage: https://gateway.uww.edu
Use the VPN (Virtual Private Network). Want to watch a video on VPN? See http://youtu.be/hE-f8-Zp7jU

Note: Research@UWW does not require that you sign in at first. However, you should sign in anyway after your first search for seamless access to more full text and to Request/UW Request borrowing.

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Get 24/7 help via live chat
Make an appointment with a Librarian

During Reference Desk Hours:
262-472-1032
Text us! 262-500-3393
Email