Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wisconsin History Digital Collections
"This website provides Wisconsin residents and audiences worldwide with free access to a growing set of historical resources from the collections of libraries, archives, museums and historical societies across the state."
University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The UWDC includes digital collections from University of Wisconsin libraries on a wide variety of subject areas.
Wisconsin Historical Images - Civil Rights
More than 200 images related to civil rights. To search for images on other historical topics, go to the site's home page (http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/whi/), click Search Images on the left, and either search by Keyword, or click the Browse Subject Categories link.
Wisconsin Local History and Biography Articles
(Wisconsin Historical Society). This site contains images of 16,000 articles from Wisconsin local newspapers, and a small number from other states, "preserved in scrapbooks at the Wisconsin Historical Society in the late 19th and 20th centuries." Most articles were published between 1860 and 1940.
Wisconsin in the Civil War
(Wisconsin Historical Society). This website provides access to diaries, regimental histories and memoirs, soldiers' letters, newspaper articles, and more than 1,000 photographs, maps and other images, all related to Wisconsin in the Civil War.
What Happened on this Day in Wisconsin History?