History 300: American Colonial History to 1763: Getting Started

This guide provides library resources for doing research for students in History 300: American Colonial History to 1763. Please don't hesitate to reach out to your librarian if you have any questions!

This guide includes the following pages:

• Primary Sources

This page contains a list of library databases, information on how to identify a primary source, examples, and suggested websites.

• Secondary Sources

This page contains a list of library article databases and information on how to find the full text of a source.

• Citation

This page provides information on why and when to cite sources, as well has how to cite sources in Turabian.

• Google Scholar

Google Scholar can help you find both books and articles, but if you use Google Scholar from off campus, configure the settings to use Andersen Library's full text subscription access.

If Andersen Library does not have the item you need, the Library can usually borrow the item for you from another library. The lending service you use depends upon the resource you wish to borrow. For assistance, please contact a reference librarian.

• UW Request (available through Research@UWW)
  Use to borrow materials such as books, videos, and government documents--if not available at Andersen Library--from other UW System Libraries.
  • Cannot use to borrow non-circulating items (such as reference books) or articles from periodicals.
  • UW Request is free!
  • Items ordered generally arrive within 2-5 weekdays.

• Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
  Use to borrow articles from newspapers, journals, and magazines not available at Andersen Library. Also use to borrow books and other materials if not available at Andersen Library or through UW Request.
  • Non-circulating items cannot be borrowed.
  • Interlibrary Loan is free!
  • Approximate turnaround time is 2-4 weekdays for articles and 5-7 weekdays for most other items.
  For more information, and for instructions on use, go to the Interlibrary Loan Service web page.