Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Land Information
1825 Prairie du Chien Treaty Journal
(University of Wisconsin Digital Collections)."Ratified treaty no. 139, documents relating to the negotiation of the treaty of August 19, 1825, with the Sioux, Chippewa, Sauk and Fox, Menominee, Iowa and Winnebago Indians and part of the Ottawa, Chippewa, and Potawatomi of the Illinois Indians." Click the link under Contents to view.
Wisconsin Public Land Survey Records: Original Field Notes and Plat Maps
(Wisconsin Board of Commissioners of Public Lands). "The survey of Wisconsin was conducted between 1832 and 1866 by the federal General Land Office. This work established the township, range and section grid; the pattern upon which land ownership and land use is based." Search by township/range/section, or by county.
General Land Office Records
(Bureau of Land Management). This site "provide[s] live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1820 and the present." Also contains images related to survey plats and field notes, dating back to 1810.
Wisconsin Land Economic Inventory Maps (Bordner Survey)
(University of Wisconsin Digital Collections). This "was a Depression-era project....Included on the maps are such features as houses, schools, churches, taverns, cheese factories, filling stations, and logging camps. Each map covers one survey township. Milwaukee County was not mapped, and maps for Lincoln, Manitowoc, and Sheboygan counties were not published."
Wisconsin Catalog of Aerial Photography
(Wisconsin State Cartographer's Office). This site "provides a comprehensive listing of aerial photography acquired by federal, state and local agencies and other groups, separated by county." Photographs date back to 1920.
Wisconsin Historic Aerial Image Finder
(University of Wisconsin-Madison). These photographs are a project of the Wisconsin State Cartographer’s Office, the Robinson Map Library at UW-Madison, the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center, and the Wisconsin Department of Transportation. It provides free online access to over 38,000 aerial photographs of Wisconsin from 1937-41. The search screen can be slow to load.
The State of Wisconsin Collection
(University of Wisconsin Digital Collections). This collection "brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary materials: writings about the State of Wisconsin and unique or valuable materials that relate to its history and ongoing development. The collection includes published material as well as archival materials." Some of the materials contained in the collection include various county histories, local history collections, plat maps, atlases, and more.
Turning Points in Wisconsin History
(Wisconsin Historical Society). This site "gives free access to original documents, lesson plans, classroom activities, and background essays on key historical events" in Wisconsin history.
Wisconsin Local and County Histories
(Wisconsin Historical Society). This collection contains histories for most of Wisconsin's 72 counties. "Most are several hundred pages long and include detailed accounts of individual cities, townships and villages, as well as biographical stories of prominent residents." Search by keyword or browse by county name. Different options for viewing are given. Scans may be difficult to read in some viewing options.