Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- ProQuest Newsstream -
Offers access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Coverage of the Wisconsin State Journal is provided from September 30, 1995, to the present. Coverage of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel is provided from April 1, 1995 to December 31, 2009. Coverage of the Janesville Gazette is provided from July 25, 2007 to the present. Click the Publications link in the database to search for other specific newspapers.
Finding Historical Newspapers
Finding newspaper articles prior to the mid-to-late 1990s often requires the use of a print index and/or microfilm. However, the Andersen Library has access to the following databases which contain full-text articles from newspapers that are decades, or even centuries, old.
- Access NewspaperARCHIVE
Available through BadgerLink. Search thousands of newspaper titles published between the 1600s and 2013. Search across all newspapers or narrow by date and/or location. Coverage of each newspaper is not complete and in many cases may be sporadic. To print an article, follow the instructions in the box at the left of this page.
- America's Historical Newspapers (NewsBank) -
Early American newspapers dating from the 1730s to the late 20th century, covering topics ranging from Pontiac's Rebellion to the Jazz Age and the Scopes Monkey Trial to Vietnam. Articles are available in full text.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2009) -
Contains the full content of the New York Times, including articles, ads, obituaries, and more, from 1851-2009.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1989) -
Contains the full content of the Chicago Tribune, including articles, ads, obituaries, and more, from 1849-1989.