Research, Citation, & Class Guides: History 324: Indigenous History of the United States: Library Sources

Library Databases

Use a library database to find articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. Choose the database(s) you need based on your topic. Some databases cover a variety of subject areas and others are more specialized.

Try the databases below to explore topics in indigenous peoples:

America History & Life with Full Text
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR
(JSTOR has temporarily activated all archive and primary source collections until June 2021 due to COVID-19.) An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database.
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.
Project Muse
Full text of over 600 scholarly journals and over 30,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Primary sources that document the relationships among peoples and the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850.
The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
Early Canadiana Online
More than 3,000 books, pamphlets, and other sources documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
The collection is particularly strong in literature, women's history, native studies, travel and exploration, and the history of French Canada.
Empire Online
This interactive collection of primary source documents is sourced from leading archives around the world. Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.

Find Full Text Articles

To access the full text of an article from Research@UWW, select , View Online, or . If those options are not available, select the button to see if we have access to it via a different database or interlibrary loan.

Use the Journals search to find out whether we have access to a particular journal or magazine:

Historical Newspapers

Try these databases to find primary sources from newspapers about indigenous peoples.

NewspaperARCHIVE
Full page and individual articles from historic newspapers from Wisconsin.
America's Historical Newspapers
Primary source newspapers published from 1728 to the late 1990s. Includes thousands of titles from all 50 states.
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from 1849 to 24 years ago.
Some content withheld due to copyright.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and individual article images with searchable full text from 1851-5 years ago
Some content withheld due to copyright

Books on Native American History

Atlas of American Indian Affairs by Francis P. Prucha
The 109 maps in this comprehensive atlas provide a much-needed visual and spatial dimension to narrative accounts of U.S. Indian policy.
A Companion to American Indian History by Philip J. Deloria (Editor); Neal Salisbury (Editor)
Contains 25 original essays by leading experts in Native American history. Covers the breadth of American Indian history, including contacts with settlers, religion, family, economy, law, education, gender issues, and culture.
Documents of American Indian Diplomacy by Vine Deloria; Raymond J. DeMallie
This collection is designed to supplement volume 2 of Kappler's Indian affairs, laws and treaties by presenting the remaining diplomatic documents
Documents of United States Indian Policy by Francis Paul Prucha
Documents cover the significant developments in American Indian affairs since 1988. Among the topics dealt with are tribal self-governance, government-to-government relations, religious rights, repatriation of human remains, trust management, health and education, federal recognition of tribes, presidential policies, and Alaska Natives.
Encyclopedia of American Indian History [4 Volumes] by Bruce E. Johansen (Editor); Barry M. Pritzker (Editor)
Encyclopedia of American Indian History spans the centuries with three thematically organized volumes (covering the period from precontact through European colonization; the years of non-Native expansion (including Indian removal); and the modern era of reservations, reforms, and reclamation of semi-sovereignty).
Treaties with American Indians by Donald L. Fixico (Editor)
Treaties with American Indians: An Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts, and Sovereignty is the first comprehensive introduction to the treaties that promised land, self-government, financial assistance, and cultural protections to many of the over 500 tribes of North America (including Alaska, Hawaii, and Canada).