The purpose of this LibGuide is to provide resources to guide you in answering the following questions as you seek scholarly publishing opportunities:
The Andersen Library Reference & Instruction Librarian Liaison for your department can provide assistance, or contact the Reference Desk.
 |
Making and Measuring Your Scholarly Impact: LEARN Center Presentation, February 28, 2019 |
The titles below are a sample of those available at Andersen Library which will provide you with in-depth information regarding academic publishing. Search Research@UWW for additional resources, including books available throughout the UW System, ebooks, articles and more.
53 Interesting Ways to Communicate Your Research by
Effective researchers need both to conduct high-quality research and to communicate it - to subject specialists, researchers in other fields, research participants, business, government, the third sector, or the public, not to mention potential employers, funders and sponsors. There are many ways to do so: examples include applications and bids, conference presentations, gray literature, journal papers, media (old and new), public talks, and teaching. This book provides fresh, creative, ways of making the most of these and other opportunities. It provides 53 practical suggestions, each based on ideas tried and tested by 37 contributors. Overall, the text is designed to help reflective practitioners in professional, scholarly, or scientific research prosper.
Academic and Professional Publishing by
Academic and professional publishing represents a diverse communications industry rooted in the scholarly ecosystem, peer review, and added value products and services. Publishers in this field play a critical and trusted role, registering, certifying, disseminating and preserving knowledge across scientific, technical and medical (STM), humanities and social science disciplines. Academic and Professional Publishing draws together expert publishing professionals, to provide comprehensive insight into the key developments in the industry and the innovative and multi-disciplinary approaches being applied to meet novel challenges. This book consists of 20 chapters covering what publishers do, how they work to add value and what the future may bring. Topics include: peer-review; the scholarly ecosystem; the digital revolution; publishing and communication strategies; business models and finances; editorial and production workflows; electronic publishing standards; citation and bibliometrics; user experience; sales, licensing and marketing; the evolving role of libraries; ethics and integrity; legal and copyright aspects; relationship management; the future of journal publishing; the impact of external forces; career development; and trust in academic and professional publishing. This book presents a comprehensive review of the integrated approach publishers take to support and improve communications within academic and professional publishing. Brings together expert publishing professionals to provide an authoritative insight into industry developments Details the challenges publishers face and the leading-edge processes and procedures used to meet them Discusses the range of new communication channels and business models that suit the wide variety of subject areas publishers work in
The Book Proposal Book by 
Novel and Short Story Writer's Market by
THE BEST RESOURCE FOR GETTING YOUR FICTION PUBLISHED Novel & Short Story Writer's Market 2019 is the only resource you need to get your short stories, novellas, and novels published. The 38th edition of NSSWM features hundreds of updated listings for book publishers, literary agents, fiction publications, contests, and more. Each listing includes contact information, submission guidelines, and other essential tips. Novel & Short Story Writer's Market also offers valuable advice to elevate your fiction: Break down the anatomy of a great short story. Learn how to create an antagonistic setting and incorporate conflict into your fiction. Discover the important elements of complexity and how to use those elements to develop your story. Gain insight from best-selling and award-winning authors, including George Saunders, Kristin Hannah, Roxane Gay, and more. You will also receive a one-year subscription to WritersMarket.com's searchable online database of fiction publishers (NOTE: the subscription comes with the print version ONLY). + Includes access to the webinar "Pillars of Perfect Structure" hosted by bestselling author James Scott Bell
Songwriter's Market by
Songwriter's Market is the go-to source for songwriters and performing artists who seek career advice and up-to-date information for placing their songs with music publishers, discovering record companies or producers, securing representation with a manager, and much more. With insights from a variety of industry experts and both career and up-and-coming songwriters, this edition features the firsthand and insider knowledge songwriters need to launch their career. You gain access to: Interviews with veterans like Phil Cody, Chip Taylor, and Marc Jordan and rising stars like Simon Wilcox, Francesco Yates, and the Grammy-nominated Erik Blu2th Griggs. Articles on breaking into Nashville, using Twitter to market yourself as a songwriter, and crowdfunding. Hundreds of songwriting-placement opportunities. Listings for songwriting organizations, conferences, workshops, retreats, colonies, contests, venues, and grant sources. + Includes exclusive access to the video "Pat Pattison Masterclass: Rhythm and Form" "Songwriter's Market is the indispensable tool you need to build your songwriting career. From the secrets of hit songwriting craft to an unequaled collection of pitching resources for your final recordings, this book delivers it all." --Robin Frederick, writer and producer of more than 500 songs for television, records, and audio products, and author of top-selling songwriting books
Writer's Market by
Want to get published and paid for your writing? Let Writer's Market 2019 guide you through the process with thousands of publishing opportunities for writers, including listings for book publishers, consumer and trade magazines, contests and awards, and literary agents--as well as new playwriting and screenwriting sections. These listings feature contact and submission information to help writers get their work published. Beyond the listings, you'll find all-new material devoted to the business and promotion of writing. Discover the secrets to ten-minute marketing, how to make money covering live events, and seven steps to doubling your writing income. Plus, you'll learn how to do video effectively, create a business plan for success, and so much more. This edition includes the ever-popular pay-rate chart and book publisher subject index! You also gain access to: Lists of professional writing organizations Sample query letters A free digital download of Writer's Yearbook, featuring the 100 Best Markets: WritersDigest.com/WritersDigest-Yearbook-18 + Includes exclusive access to the webinar "Find More Success With Your Submissions" from Writer's Market Editor Robert Lee Brewer
Writing for Earth Scientists by
The time has come. You are an Earth scientist. You've spent weeks, months, years working on this project - now is the time to pull it together for publication. You might be writing an undergraduate or graduate thesis, a research paper for a leading journal, a note for the newsletter of the local amateur scientific society, a book review or an abstract for a specialist geological conference. How do you make the transition from promising unpublished researcher to established academic author? Of course, the phrase 'academic publishing' covers a multitude of sins; monographs, research papers, book reviews, conference abstracts or whatever each requires a different approach. You have to decide what it is you are going to write and where to publish it. There are co-authors, supervisors of your degree, peer reviewers and editors to deal with on the way. But the only way to write like an academic is to write like an academic. . . where do you start? You could do much worse than start here. There are many books on how to write and be published aimed at research students and other aspiring academics. Many of these are readable, comprehensive and provide good advice. This book is composed of numerous short chapters on this subject, all directly relevant to one or more aspects of academic publishing and aimed particularly at the Earth scientists in the broadest sense. Geologists will be encouraged to use the book as much as a reference as a reader, 'dipping in' to the chapters that contain relevant tips, hints and comments to enable them to improve the paper that they are currently writing. The book is intended to be informative, readable and, above all, of practical application for all readers. In summary, the volume will be a readable compilation investigating many facets of academic publishing relevant to the Earth sciences. It will be of particular interest to postgraduate students, postdocs and new academics
Writing Your Journal Article in 12 Weeks by
"This book is a wonderful addition to a graduate course on professional writing, to a writers'' group in need of some structure, or even to the lone writer who needs assistance becoming an academic writer." --Chronicle of Higher Education Wendy Laura Belcher''s Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success is a revolutionary approach to enabling academic authors to overcome their anxieties and produce the publications that are essential to succeeding in their fields. Each week, readers learn a particular feature of strong articles and work on revising theirs accordingly. At the end of twelve weeks, they send their article to a journal. This invaluable resource is the only guide that focuses specifically on publishing humanities and social science journal articles. Key Features Has a proven record of helping graduate students and professors get published: This workbook, developed over a decade of teaching scholarly writers in a range of disciplines at UCLA and around the world, has already helped hundreds to publish their articles in peer-reviewed journals. Demystifies the academic publishing process: This workbook is based on actual research about faculty productivity and peer review, students'' writing triumphs and failures, as well as the author''s experiences as a journal editor and award-winning author. Proceeds step by manageable step: Within the context of clear deadlines, the workbook provides the instruction, exercises, and structure needed to revise a classroom essay, conference paper, dissertation chapter, master''s thesis, or unfinished draft into a journal article and send it to a suitable journal. Targets the biggest writing challenges: This workbook focuses squarely on the most difficult tasks facing scholarly writers, such as getting motivated, making an argument, and creating a logical whole. Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks can be used individually or in groups, and is particularly appropriate for graduate student professional development courses, junior faculty orientation workshops, post-doc groups, and journal article writing courses. Wendy Laura Belcher is assistant professor of African literature at Princeton University in the Department of Comparative Literature and Center for African American Studies. She has taught journal article writing workshops in North America, Europe, and Africa. Praise for Wendy Belcher and Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks "A comprehensive, well-written and beautifully organized book on publishing articles in the humanities and social sciences that will help its readers write forward with a first-rate guide as good company." --Joan Bolker, author of Writing Your Dissertation in Fifteen Minutes a Day "Humorous, direct, authentic ... a seamless weave of experience, anecdote, and research." --Kathleen McHugh, professor and director of the UCLA Center for the Study of Women "A useful text that will be an excellent resource for any writer attempting to publish their work." --Larry Chandler, Graduate Student "Wendy Belcher''s book is revolutionizing the way younger scholars perceive academic publishing and radically transforming their level of access to it (and consequently to the profession). It is by far the most readable or practical guide to academic writing on the market." --Beth Goodhue, UCLA "Wendy''s guidance has been a tremendous help to me, and the book is great for grad students, junior faculty, or anyone who wants to learn how to write and publish more effectively." -Jake Dorman, The University of Kansas "Your book struck such a nerve because there is a long chain of assumptions in academia that scholars should just know how to do certain things. The relief among faculty is palpable when I explain in groups that few of us -- even those who have been published in journals -- were ever taught properly. And although it helps everyone who cracks it, your book is especially a godsend for faculty from other cultures." -Carole Sargent, Georgetown University "Thanks for your wonderful book!" -Georgina Green, Graduate Student "Absolutely LOVE the book!" -Karra Bikson, Graduate Student
