Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Social Work: Find Tests, Surveys, & Measurements

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research, Volume 1 - Couples, Families, and Children by Kevin Corcoran (Editor); Joel Fischer (Editor)
Call Number: On Reserve: Ask at Circulation Desk BF176 .C66 2013, vol. 1
ISBN: 9780199778584
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
One of the key challenges of all types of practice and research is finding a way to measure the problem. This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provideguidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced.This first volume, focusing on measures for use with couples, families, and children, includes an introduction to the basic principles of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of the Rapid Assessment Inventories included herein. Volume I also contains descriptions and reviews of each instrument, as well as information on how they were selected and how to administer and score them.This book is designed as the definitive reference volume on assessment measures for both practice and research in clinical mental health. This fifth edition of Corcoran and Fischer's Measures for Clinical Practice and Research is updated with a new preface, new scales, and updated information for existing instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine. Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research, Volume 2 - Adults by Kevin Corcoran (Editor); Joel Fischer (Editor)
Call Number: On Reserve: Ask at Circulation Desk BF176 .C66 2013, vol. 2
ISBN: 9780199778591
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
This second volume, focusing on measures for use with adults, whose conditions of concerns are not focused on family relationships or couple relationships, includes an introduction to the basic principles of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of the Rapid Assessment Inventories included herein. Volume II also contains descriptions and reviews of each instrument, as well as information on how they were selected and how to administer and score them.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook - Couples, Families, and Children by Joel Fischer; Kevin Corcoran
Ebook of 2007 edition.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook - Adults by Joel Fischer; Kevin Corcoran
Ebook of 2007 edition.

Find Test & Measures in PsycINFO

PsycINFO can help you find articles that include sample test items or entire tests. These are reported in the record as "Appended."

Enter keywords in the search boxes on the Advanced Search screen
Using the Filters under the search boxes, scroll and locate the Tests & Measures box

Enter Appended
Select Search

When tests are marked as appended, they may contain sample items in the text of the paper or as an appendix. Open up the full-text to find the items in the text or the appendices.

Find Published & Unpublished Tests

FAQ: Finding Information About Psychological Tests
The American Psychological Association (APA) provides guidance in using available resources to find psychological tests. Topics include:
-- published psychological tests,
-- unpublished psychological tests and
-- additional information on the proper use of tests.

Find Reviews of Tests, Surveys, & Measurements

Published tests are usually reviewed to give practitioners and researchers brief descriptions of tests and measurements. The reviews often contain other information such as contact information for the publisher, validity and reliability, scoring, purpose, intended population, pricing, and administration.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Descriptive information, references, and critical reviews of tests in psychology, education, business and leadership; a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially-available English-language tests currently in print.

Test Critiques
Call Number: Main Collection, 3rd Floor; BF176 .T419 1984
This work provides a brief introduction to each test as well as information on its application, technical aspects, and finally, a critique. Entries are accompanied by a lengthy list of references. These books are organized alphabetically by test title and are indexed by title, publisher, author/reviews, and subject.
Tests by Taddy Maddox
Call Number: Reference Collection, 2nd Floor; BF176 .T43 2008
This work aims to provide users with concise descriptions and basic information (no reviews) of assessment instruments in psychology, education, and business. Population, purpose, format, scoring, publisher, author, and cost information are provided for each entry. Also provided are indices of publishers, authors, and test titles. The book is organized by subject (i.e. motor skills, academic aptitude, etc.)

Test Collection: Research@UWW

This small collection is to be used by students and researchers for the review and evaluation of commonly used tests and assessment tools. These tests are not for administering in a classroom. Tests are located in the Curriculum Collection on the 2nd floor of Andersen Library. Visit the Collection Policies page for information regarding tests in Andersen Library.

Tests on Reserve

Some departments have placed tests on Reserve. Search the Reserves link on the Library Homepage.

Search the Catalog

Search the online catalog for test by name, subject, or browse the collection by using the following search strand as illustrated below.

If you know the title of the test, start your search at the Library Homepage.
Enter the test name and use the dropdown menu to select Books, Media & more (UW Whitewater).

If you do not know a specific test name, enter a key term such as:

You may narrow your search to the Test Collection itself, although a few tests are located in other collections.
To do so, use the Location limits on the left side of the results page.
If you do not see WW Curriculum Collection, you may need to hover your mouse cursor over the Curriculum Collection labels or click More options as pictured below.

Note the complete location information provided, as not all tests are located in the Test Collection on the 2nd floor of Andersen Library.

Social Work

Full Research@UWW Search Box

Research@UWW

Get Help: Contact a Librarian